Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KaleyADPi
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Made pretty much exactly according to the recipe except I used 2 frozen bags of vegetables (celery, onion, and bell pepper medley). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Mh family nsaid it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Sutter
Photo by Mhansmann
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I liked it a lot, very easy to prepare and without that much of spices it tasted delicious! I had to make some changes/adaptations because of the ingredients I had and didn´t. I didn´t use de can of pepper and tomato and instead used 2 peppers, instead of the canned tomatoes, I used a natural tomatoe and the rice wasn´t the brown one. I think a bit of chorizo, sausage or smoked ham with give that extra kick! Definitely will try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe is so good! I substituted veggie broth instead the chicken broth and also added in half of an extremely ripe jalapeno. It just kept getting better with each day that it had time so soak up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ritzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Everyone loved it, even Aaron and William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Added Cajun seasoning and some sausage yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I agree that this was very bland. I used soaked and rinsed dry beans, so I added another 2 cups of broth. Also added 1/2 tsp creole seasoning and two cut-up Italian sausages. It's a hearty base, but it needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Pretty good. Only used 3 cans peas, this recipe makes a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Spicy and delicious! I had some family over on New Year's Day and we enjoyed this a lot. I sprinkled in some chili powder for a little extra flavor and served it with cornbread and oyster crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States