Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Absolutely wonderful gumbo. Followed as written just added Tobasco at the end. It gets better the next day as the rice and veggies get softer and the flavors settle. It makes a lot but we made it meatless, pretty figure friendly. My boyfriend said he wants me to make it again in the future and add scotch bonnets for heat. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved this! I used vegetable broth to make it vegan. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe! I'm just an amature cook, but I made this and everyone who tried it thinks I'm a chef! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Bolte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made this for a tailgate in NY in January. Perfect winter food. I added some hot sauce, cajun seasoning and andouille sausage. Rave reviews from my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My family loved it. I made a few minor changes. I put sliced and quartered pieces of kielbsa when I cooked the veggies. I also put my garlic in part way through cooking my veggies. I am considering using bacon grease instead of olive oil; as alot of southern cooks do, the next time I make this. I used Rotel tomatoes for the 10 ounce can. I served it with corn bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is great recipe for anytime. All I did was add bratwurst sliced and browned on both sides and I recieved raves from my husband and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I like spicy food, but have never been to Louisiana to have authentic gumbo, and am not sure how it should taste. But I liked this once I tried it out...I did alter it, probably making it not gumbo at all. I started heating 3 slices of chopped bacon to get some liquid going...as the bacon released it's grease and started to brown I then added some olive oil and then the onions, celery, etc. I also added two chopped up cajon sausages. I had to add much more water than I had expected...about 3 or 4 emty tomato cans' worth of water. N ext time I will use white basmati rice over brown rice as I prefer it. And as it was a bit bland I also added a 4oz can of diced jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Wow! This was so much more yummy than I anticipated! My kids loved it, too. I added another 2 cups of chicken broth to make it not so thick. I will make this one many more times, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Added some jalapeno cheese bratwurst that we had on hand and this was a hit! Will probably be our New Years tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Oh My Heavens, my family and I loved the soup so much!!! I followed all the ingridents, no changes. So perfect soup! Very spicy! I will make it once a month along with other soup recipes every month for the cold weather! For the fact, blackeye peas has great benifits, it prevents the colon cancer, reduces the risk of having diabetes. It has high fiber & protein and low fat. It also helps people lose weight because the blackeye beans designs to keep you full. Very delicious and healthy soup!! I didnt add anything like the meat. Perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States