Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good! Perfect for new years. I added some cajun spice just cause I like it spicy but it would have tasted fine without it too. I also simmered it longer than the recipe called for and that seemed to really bring out the flavor. Defiantly making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
it was very tasty, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen.of.Tarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Excellent flavor. I used precooked rice so that it wouldn't take 45minutes. Instead, it was ready in twenty. Perfect for a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My daughter requests this recipe frequently....as it is bland as I have read in some reviews, we add several splashes of Tabasco sauce to taste and with that it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
What is Gumbo without OKRA! That is what I added to make this recipe good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This had a great flavor. I would recommend cutting the black eyed peas in half when making with the rice. It's alot of starch. I'll definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very good and healthy. I did not have celery and had a half a head of green cabbage so I used that instead, and a red pepper instead of a green one. Also threw in some bulk hot Italian sausage at the start. I only gave it 4 stars because it did not reheat well - got kind of mushy as leftovers. I will make it again but not plan to have a lot left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Following tradition, I made this for New Years Day for my Kids and Husband. They usually never eat Black-eyed Peas. They loved it! I changed slightly by adding a can of corn and smoked turkey. This recipe will be a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added two pkgs of smoked sausage and a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. Yum! Even my picky daughter liked it, though she thought it was spicy. (I'm assuming from the green chilies in the tomatoes.) My hubby and boys added hot sauce and pepper to theirs. I think a few teaspoons of bacon bits next time will really kick it into overdrive. Oh, I also used a 16oz. bag of frozen black eyed peas, long grain white rice instead of the brown, and threw it all in the crockpot on low before I went to work. Outstanding and it only took me 10 minutes to assemble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This dish is sooo good. I added some uncle johns sausage. I like mild but you could use hot. I cut them on angles and cooked them separate. I removed as much grease as possible with a paper towel than added to gumbo. Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States