Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this and it took Black-Eyed Peas to a whole new dimension! Great for giving those Peas a "makeover" and bring back the romance with this vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made this the other day and loved it(so did My husband). The only change I made, actually an addition, was sauteeing some sliced smoked chicken and apple sausage and adding it to the gumbo. Very tasty dish and full of nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I normally follow the recipe exactly as provided ... but I did not use the liquid from the beans, added an extra cup of chicken broth, and didn't add the tomatoes with chilies and served with shredded cheese. A friend who doesn't even like black-eyed peas LOVED it! i think whatever tweaks you make will probably be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I scaled and down to 3 and rounded things up and down a little to use whole tins, so less beans more tomato - i had to use a jalapeno sauce in place of green chills in tomatoes but it tasted great all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe has all the ingredients that I love so I had to try it. I'm always looking for healthy, low sodium and low fat soups that taste great for my lunch. To make this more of a soup I used 32 ozs fat free, reduced sodium chicken broth. I ouny had 2 cans of black eyed peas on hand. I used no salt diced tomatoes and "hot" Rotel. Near the end of simmering I added 2 bay leaves and 1/4 cup dried parsley. Even with the added chicken broth this still came out thick. A bowl of this soup, piece of fruit and a big glass of ice water and you have a perfect lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious! We all liked. Easy. I added a couple more cloves of garlic then it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and easy. I added some smoked turkey sausage and a bit more chicken broth and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great meal;I prepared it for group of about 20 mostly college age folks & they devoured it. I used Conenech smoked sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunniedm
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made this last night. Gave 4 stars because I changed according to reviews I thought we'd like. Hubby liked and said to keep since it tasted similar to his ham & navy bean soup. This would be good with the addition of ham or sausage by the way. Our second bowl we added a little ketchup over it as he suggested and it really did give it something extra. Good recipe for adding fiber to your diet. I used 1# dried beans I soaked overnight so per reviews I used 4C (whole box) chicken broth. Used 2 cans Rotel Original rather 2 cans of diced in recipe. I added 1t Creole Seasoning and 1/2t cayenne pepper as suggested. I brought to a boil then cooked on low for 1 hour. Hubby wants cornbread with the leftovers!! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Absolutely wonderful gumbo. Followed as written just added Tobasco at the end. It gets better the next day as the rice and veggies get softer and the flavors settle. It makes a lot but we made it meatless, pretty figure friendly. My boyfriend said he wants me to make it again in the future and add scotch bonnets for heat. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States