Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I added a lot of creole seasoning to this, along with black pepper and it was a lot better. Took out the rice and made it soupier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Makes a massive amount of food. Thought that the flavor was way too bland without some serious cajun seasoning and hot pepper addition. Probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I added chicken breast and fresh okra. Turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
really liked this. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used dried black-eyed peas instead of canned. Not sure if that was the reason, but this took forever to cook - about an hour longer than the recipe called for. Still, it was worth the wait. So yummy and healthy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was GREAT!!!! Like others suggested I too added cajun seasoning (1tsp of zatarain's blackened seasoning to be exact) and sausage. I also decided at the last minute to add some frozen okra, just because it sounded good :) without the sausage this recipe is only 7 weight watchers points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Add 28 oz hot smoked sausage by hillshire farm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Definately a keeper! I added some cajun seasoning and hot sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Made this for a Mardi Gras potluck at work and it was a hit! We already had a rice dish so I omitted the rice and then added about 1 TBSP of sea salt for flavor. I also used dry beans (vs. canned). Didn't think it needed other flavor besides a little salt however a few shakes of hot sauce adds extra yum. This is a great low-cal and high protein/fiber meal, too. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYBECCA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good! Perfect for new years. I added some cajun spice just cause I like it spicy but it would have tasted fine without it too. I also simmered it longer than the recipe called for and that seemed to really bring out the flavor. Defiantly making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States