Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe for New Year. It came out great. I also changed slightly to my husband's test. I made with dried beans, added only one can of tomato and added frozen cut okras. Also added one bay leave. My husband loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Delicious! I prefer to drain the peas if using canned, but this is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I found it on allrecipes.com 5 years ago and have made it on New Years Day ever since!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is not a gumbo to people that are used to traditional gumbo. But being from Plaquemines parish and raising a family in the Midwest they think of it as gumbo-ish. I added Cajun seasoning, tabasco sauce, lots of garlic and smoked sausage. With homemade buttermilk cornbread every bite was eaten. I think next year I will add bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made this last year on New Year's Day, and it was DELICIOUS! Made it exactly as written, only halved it (and I always puree my tomatoes in the Magic Bullet bc my husband and I prefer a sauce rather than chunks in recipes that call for tomatoes). Hearty, healthy and filling. Making it again tomorrow for New Year's Day. Will be a yearly tradition in our home! Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very good and heathy. I used yellow pepper as a preference. I accidentally used hot tomatoes with chilis in one can, which really zipped it up. My husband loved that. Planning to freeze leftovers for lunches at another time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used only one can of black eyed peas. Added 1 pkg Spicy sausage-sliced, and 1 can of mushrooms. Everyboddy loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Used the creole seasoning from this site to add flavor but its actually too spicy for me so maybe next time ill leave some of it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was delish. I omitted a can of black eyed peas and added a can of black beans. Would be even better with maybe smoked sausage or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. We love our black eyed peas. The next time I make it I will only use 1/2 cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States