Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
One of our favorite winter recipes. Always make it for New Years Day. Add ham bone to it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was an excellent recipe with a few modifications. I used dried beans instead of canned, tripled the garlic and added salt, chili powder, cholula, cumin and turmeric. I also threw in some chorizo, though it would have been just as good without it. We ate it with both cornbread and fried plantain, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good soup recipe. Next time I will spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This first time gumbo eater was well pleased. Next time i will remember to scale down. Followed exactly and made enough for my family of four for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
UPDATE: I made this again using two cans of rotel (one hot rotel,) and a little cayenne pepper and it was too hot to eat! Don't do this! Still love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am a football caoch and this is the best meal an athelete could eat before a game! complex carbs and I add smoked sausage and shrimp to it for an additional portein base. all of the mom's and players love it! Thanks for the inspiration! mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I added okra in place of some of the celery, and added some extra peas (I used dried ones instead of canned). You might want to up the seasoning some, but that depends on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Without the 1 tsp. of cajun seasoning, it would have been bland. However, with the seasoning and some added German sausage, it was fantastic. Only gave it 3 stars because I had made some modifications based on other reviewers' suggestions. Also used frozen black eyed peas instead of canned and they were great. Lastly, used already-cooked leftover brown rice and added it at the end which saved a lot of time. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I was surprised with how much flavor there was in this with a lack of seasonings. I did double the garlic because that is something I tend to do, but my other can of tomatoes was fire roasted with chiles and that might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was really good. I added 2 tbs of cajun seasoning, veggie broth, some cayenne, and a little liquid smoke. I didn't have the chile peppers. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States