Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This one is definitely going in the recipe box! My family loved it, even my 5 and 7 year old. It is so easy to make and its a bonus that it is a healthy dish too. I did add some cajun seasoning because I felt it needed a little extra umph. I also added sriracha to mine and my husband bowl to give it some spice. Look forward to having left overs today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this today in the crockpot, and it is soooooo good! I don't like celery, so I left that out, and added okra and kielbasa slices. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Hubby does not like black eyed peas, but he liked the gumbo. He gave it a 4\5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe!!! Only addition was I added sausage to it. My family really enjoyed it too!!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My family though it was the best thing they ever ate.The only thing i did was add 1lb turkey sausage,and 2 tsp creole seasoning and 1 can of corn. Simmered for 1 hr . Removed from heat and added 1 lb of cleaned raw shrimp . Let sit till shrimp cooked. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is terrific. We added 1# of smoked sausage and it was terrific! We will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Dial

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Bass
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My family's New Year's Day tradition!! We add sausage and eat with cornbread...yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was absolutely delicious, and very simple to make. The only ingredient changes I made were to use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and to add salt and pepper near the end of the cooking time. I simmered it for longer than the recipe calls for, as my rice was still hard at the end of the specified cooking time. This is my first time cooking with black eyed peas and it will definitely become a New Years Day tradition in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe, I make this every year for news years dinner. Thinly thing I do different is add okra to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This dish was a hit during thanksgiving dinner. Next time, I will add meat for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States