Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I tweaked recipe because of lack of ingredients & still turned out great, I used 2 cans black-eyed peas, 2 cans cannelini beans, 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes & 4 oz can of whole green chiles, which I chopped. Also added one more cup of broth. Everyone loved it. Easy to make & use what you have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Merged these ingredients with the instructions for Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Good, but missing 'something'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I used water instead of chicken broth, and served the beans over rice instead of cooking the beans and rice together. Good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made this for a New Years Day gathering and it was a big hit! I used frozen black eyed peas and increased the amount of of broth to keep it moist. To give it a little flavor I put a few pieces of bacon in while it was simmering and removed them before serving. This is an excellent cold day lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
A great base recipe! Served it for New Year's with Absolute Mexican Cornbread (from this site) and collard greens ~ was a huge it! Ended up draining the beans and adding extra stock. Also used a 28-ounce can of fire-roasted tomatoes and a 4-ounce can of diced green chilies instead. Added 1 Tbsp. of Tony Chachere's Lite Creole Seasoning, some fresh ground black pepper, sea salt, a little extra water and then some file (sassafras leaves) on top before serving. Next time I'll probably make a roux and add some okra. Tasted even better the 2nd day ~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was my first attempt at gumbo and it turned out awesome. Easy, nice and spicy, but the 8-year old still loved it. We traded one can of black-eyed peas for garbonzo beans and added chicken sausage. I'm sure it would have tasted just fine unmodified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcorring

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!! I used turkey links (sliced) instead. I will make this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is SO good! I added some Creole seasoning and served with cornbread, and it was so delicious! It makes a lot and was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Easy & Healthy & Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States