Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Really good! I added cajun seasoning and hot sauce per other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I could eat this for days. Literally. I ate this for days until I was done with all the leftovers. This is classic, stick-to-your-ribs comfort food. I can't say enough good things about this recipe...only change was to add significantly more garlic since I love a strong garlic taste in....everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was very good. I added some smoked sausage, Cajun seasoning and a little Frank's hot sauce as some others had suggested. This gave it a little heat and great flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I've cooked this twice. The first time I followed the recipe. The second time I added chicken andouille sausage. Either way, the pot was all eaten up. A very simple, but delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Black eyed peas are very "earthy" tasting, which overpowered this dish, for me. Not terrible, but won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Quite good. I added red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
i added some extra spices...delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was a big hit at my boyfriend's New Year's Eve party, and there were gourmet type adults and teenagers. I sauteed andouille first and skipped the oil, adding the vegetables to the sausage after a few minutes. I also added about a lb of cooked shrimp after everything else was in the pot. Great served with cornbread, and even better the next day. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
It sounded good although the picture was not appealing. I started making it and wondering at the same time "what was I thinking?" I did deviate a bit by adding smoked turkey sausage, a bit of cajun seasoning (recipe on this site) and a touch of hot sauce. And I have to say it was pretty darn good. Surprisingly my daughter LOVED it. So did my wife. They thought it was great. Giving it 4 stars and a thank you. Give it a try, I think it's an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Easy, healthy & tasty. Made as written & felt it was a tad bland - like it's missing something.... Sprinkled green tabasco & grated parm cheese on my bowl & enjoyed it more. Served copycat tastefully simple beer bread on the side. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States