Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I tried this dish for New Years Eve. It was awesome!! My family loved it also. It was the best way to get them to eat blackeyed peas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I used my pressure cooker to first cook unsoaked black eyed peas. I used my smaller pressure cooker to cook hot Italian sausage. Added about 5-6 large cloves of garlic, and I omitted the brown rice. Excellent dish. Kids thought it was a tad spicy, but they ate it anyway. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very bland as is. It needs at least 2 tab spoon of cajun spice, 2 tea spoon Spanish paprika, 1 tea spoon thyme, 2 tea spoon fresh rosemary and 1/4 tea spoon chipotle pepper. 2 cups of cooked black-eyed peas w/o liquid was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
LOVE! I added dashes of hot sauce to mine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was great, added little smokies cocktail sausages and okra for more of a gumbo feel. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This tastes great! I added smoked paprika, liquid smoke, dash of clove and oregano. My only complaint because I eat with my eyes...it does not look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Used immersion blender to get thicker consistency. Tasted great over corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Really good recipe, and simple to make! I added smoked sausage as suggested below, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this recipe as written, and the brown rice was a little hard at the end of cooking time. The flavor was just ok- the soup overall was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is one of the best gumbo's I have ever had. It was my first time making it, so so simple. I watch my calorie/fat intake very closely, this fit right in. I could eat this everyday of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States