Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Great recipe! Made exactly by the recipe, and it was delicious - and easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLA IN BETHANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
What an easy, healthy recipe. I served it with cornbread, as well, and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was very simple, fast and DELICIOUS. I used the extra hot tomatoes and chilis and it had quite the kick. Topped it with a bit of sour cream. Rave reviews all around. I let it simmer longer than called for and had to add a bit of water. Definately a keeper and will be made again. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This was delicious! I added sausage to my husbands bowl and he just raved about how great this was! Will definitely make again. Also, I added about 1 tsp. of Creole seasoning to spice it up. But I think it would have been good without as well. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8K8VT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Loved this gumbo. We did add some sausage to complete the meal. Some liked it spicier so we kept hot sauce on the table to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was delicious! I added some creole seasoning, and it was a hit all around. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Made it exactly as it said. Everyone in the family loved it. Used canned whole tomatoes insstead of fresh. Turned out great. Now make it every week. Thanks for the recipe. Another great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
WOW!! Awesome & flavorful recipe! I did make a few changes however; I used 3 cans of peas (4 just seemed like way too much), and subsituted Chili Fixins Seasoned Ro-Tel for the greenchilies&dicedtomatoes - This gave the gumbo a real kick!!! Overall this gumbo was delicious - & I would've loved it even without the spicyness. This will be a keeper for years to come ~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe. I did add the creole seasonings and a dash only of cayenne pepper. Just enough. This will be traditional for us on New Years in years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Absolutely delicious. This will become a regular at our dinner table. The only change I made was that I used two cans of diced tomatoes (with liquid) and one 4.5 ounce can of diced chiles (with liquid), simply because I did not have Rotel on hand. Also added a little salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States