Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Definately a keeper! I added some cajun seasoning and hot sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Made this for a Mardi Gras potluck at work and it was a hit! We already had a rice dish so I omitted the rice and then added about 1 TBSP of sea salt for flavor. I also used dry beans (vs. canned). Didn't think it needed other flavor besides a little salt however a few shakes of hot sauce adds extra yum. This is a great low-cal and high protein/fiber meal, too. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYBECCA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good! Perfect for new years. I added some cajun spice just cause I like it spicy but it would have tasted fine without it too. I also simmered it longer than the recipe called for and that seemed to really bring out the flavor. Defiantly making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
it was very tasty, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen.of.Tarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Excellent flavor. I used precooked rice so that it wouldn't take 45minutes. Instead, it was ready in twenty. Perfect for a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My daughter requests this recipe frequently....as it is bland as I have read in some reviews, we add several splashes of Tabasco sauce to taste and with that it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
What is Gumbo without OKRA! That is what I added to make this recipe good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This had a great flavor. I would recommend cutting the black eyed peas in half when making with the rice. It's alot of starch. I'll definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very good and healthy. I did not have celery and had a half a head of green cabbage so I used that instead, and a red pepper instead of a green one. Also threw in some bulk hot Italian sausage at the start. I only gave it 4 stars because it did not reheat well - got kind of mushy as leftovers. I will make it again but not plan to have a lot left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Following tradition, I made this for New Years Day for my Kids and Husband. They usually never eat Black-eyed Peas. They loved it! I changed slightly by adding a can of corn and smoked turkey. This recipe will be a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States