Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
it was very tasty, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen.of.Tarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Excellent flavor. I used precooked rice so that it wouldn't take 45minutes. Instead, it was ready in twenty. Perfect for a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My daughter requests this recipe frequently....as it is bland as I have read in some reviews, we add several splashes of Tabasco sauce to taste and with that it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
What is Gumbo without OKRA! That is what I added to make this recipe good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This had a great flavor. I would recommend cutting the black eyed peas in half when making with the rice. It's alot of starch. I'll definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very good and healthy. I did not have celery and had a half a head of green cabbage so I used that instead, and a red pepper instead of a green one. Also threw in some bulk hot Italian sausage at the start. I only gave it 4 stars because it did not reheat well - got kind of mushy as leftovers. I will make it again but not plan to have a lot left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Following tradition, I made this for New Years Day for my Kids and Husband. They usually never eat Black-eyed Peas. They loved it! I changed slightly by adding a can of corn and smoked turkey. This recipe will be a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added two pkgs of smoked sausage and a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. Yum! Even my picky daughter liked it, though she thought it was spicy. (I'm assuming from the green chilies in the tomatoes.) My hubby and boys added hot sauce and pepper to theirs. I think a few teaspoons of bacon bits next time will really kick it into overdrive. Oh, I also used a 16oz. bag of frozen black eyed peas, long grain white rice instead of the brown, and threw it all in the crockpot on low before I went to work. Outstanding and it only took me 10 minutes to assemble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This dish is sooo good. I added some uncle johns sausage. I like mild but you could use hot. I cut them on angles and cooked them separate. I removed as much grease as possible with a paper towel than added to gumbo. Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I used dry black-eyed peas. First I put a smoked shank in my crock pot and cook it most of the day until it falls off the bone. I then wash and soak the black-eyed peas all night so it's ready to cook the next day. I turn on the crockpot and cook the peas and shank for a couple hours, I then take out the shank and bones and discard the bones and fat. I put the meat back in along with kilbasa sausage, browned onion, celery, green pepper and garlic. I added chicken broth granuals, 1 can diced tomatoes. I then added a little cajun seasoning called 'Slap Ya Mama' along with a little pepper. I made white rice on the side to add in as desired. The entire crockpot was gone in a couple hours. When I first told my family what I was making they thought it sounded nasty but they are already asking when I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States