Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am a football caoch and this is the best meal an athelete could eat before a game! complex carbs and I add smoked sausage and shrimp to it for an additional portein base. all of the mom's and players love it! Thanks for the inspiration! mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I added okra in place of some of the celery, and added some extra peas (I used dried ones instead of canned). You might want to up the seasoning some, but that depends on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Without the 1 tsp. of cajun seasoning, it would have been bland. However, with the seasoning and some added German sausage, it was fantastic. Only gave it 3 stars because I had made some modifications based on other reviewers' suggestions. Also used frozen black eyed peas instead of canned and they were great. Lastly, used already-cooked leftover brown rice and added it at the end which saved a lot of time. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I was surprised with how much flavor there was in this with a lack of seasonings. I did double the garlic because that is something I tend to do, but my other can of tomatoes was fire roasted with chiles and that might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was really good. I added 2 tbs of cajun seasoning, veggie broth, some cayenne, and a little liquid smoke. I didn't have the chile peppers. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe. I had a friend who asked me to bring the black-eyed peas to their New Years Day gathering, so of course, I came to Allrecipes for ideas and settled on this one. I'm pretty much a "recipe follower", but always read a lot of these reviews and based on that, I decided to add some Kielbasa sausage and a few shakes of Cajun Seasoning from this site...the latter since one of the hosts is from N'Orleans. To let the flavors incorporate, I prepared this the day before. It was a big hit. The next day, the hostess called and said these were the best black eyed peas she's had...except for her mother's. Being the good daughter that she is, I think she felt obligated to say that last part! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good. I used Jamine rice and topped it with a dollop of sour cream and shredded pepper jack/with red/green jalapenoes cheese. Serve with cornbread for a hearty Sunday football fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this for new years day because of the great reviews. I found it to be a little bland. So the second day I spiced it up a bit more with a little liquid smoke and a some chopped jalepenos. So as written I only give it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We really truly enjoyed this on New Year's Day and it sure did make the house smell good! As I threw everything together I wasn't so sure about it, but once the rice was cooked and it was all done, OMG... it was delicious! My only additions were 1 raw chicken breast (chopped), some cooked chicken andouille sausage (diced), and about .5 to 1.0 tsp of cajun seasoning. Otherwise, exactly as written. I did learn one big lesson. This did not work well as a slow cooker meal... which I thought I'd try so I didn't have to watch it so closely. It worked perfectly until it came time to cook the rice... and it was never going to do that at the 180 deg crockpot temp (at least in the time frame I was seeking!) I removed everthing to a big soup pot, added the rice, and it was ready in just over 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this for New Years Dinner. I added hot sausage and collard greens. And instead of garlic i used garlic salt. Dont forget to make the cornbread. It was sooooo good! I will be making this over and over again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States