Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I like spicy food, but have never been to Louisiana to have authentic gumbo, and am not sure how it should taste. But I liked this once I tried it out...I did alter it, probably making it not gumbo at all. I started heating 3 slices of chopped bacon to get some liquid going...as the bacon released it's grease and started to brown I then added some olive oil and then the onions, celery, etc. I also added two chopped up cajon sausages. I had to add much more water than I had expected...about 3 or 4 emty tomato cans' worth of water. N ext time I will use white basmati rice over brown rice as I prefer it. And as it was a bit bland I also added a 4oz can of diced jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Wow! This was so much more yummy than I anticipated! My kids loved it, too. I added another 2 cups of chicken broth to make it not so thick. I will make this one many more times, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Added some jalapeno cheese bratwurst that we had on hand and this was a hit! Will probably be our New Years tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Oh My Heavens, my family and I loved the soup so much!!! I followed all the ingridents, no changes. So perfect soup! Very spicy! I will make it once a month along with other soup recipes every month for the cold weather! For the fact, blackeye peas has great benifits, it prevents the colon cancer, reduces the risk of having diabetes. It has high fiber & protein and low fat. It also helps people lose weight because the blackeye beans designs to keep you full. Very delicious and healthy soup!! I didnt add anything like the meat. Perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The photo shows corn in the finished product, but I didn't see it listed in the ingredients??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe! The only thing I added was about 12 oz. of smoked sausage (diced) and a large ham hock. This gave a little more smokey flavor. Excellent recipe! Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Amazing recipe - hearty, flavorful, healthy - perfect. I've been eating a little bit in the mornings and really fills me up and powers me through the day, then I get my healthy carbs out of the way for the day to burn efficiently. I followed a readers recommendation to add smoked sausage, I used smoked turkey sausage and then we either dabbed on Chulula sauce or tapatio. Instant hit in the house! I froze some to defrost at a later time, I don't think that will be too far off. Delicious...thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is absolutely awesome! I added quite a bit of cajun seasoning and used the hottest Rotel tomatoes. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The seasonings have to be revved up in this one. I recommend black pepper, cayenne, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeni
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made the gumbo tonight. Omitted the celery and added sausage as recommended by others. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States