Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Added some jalapeno cheese bratwurst that we had on hand and this was a hit! Will probably be our New Years tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Oh My Heavens, my family and I loved the soup so much!!! I followed all the ingridents, no changes. So perfect soup! Very spicy! I will make it once a month along with other soup recipes every month for the cold weather! For the fact, blackeye peas has great benifits, it prevents the colon cancer, reduces the risk of having diabetes. It has high fiber & protein and low fat. It also helps people lose weight because the blackeye beans designs to keep you full. Very delicious and healthy soup!! I didnt add anything like the meat. Perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The photo shows corn in the finished product, but I didn't see it listed in the ingredients??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe! The only thing I added was about 12 oz. of smoked sausage (diced) and a large ham hock. This gave a little more smokey flavor. Excellent recipe! Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Amazing recipe - hearty, flavorful, healthy - perfect. I've been eating a little bit in the mornings and really fills me up and powers me through the day, then I get my healthy carbs out of the way for the day to burn efficiently. I followed a readers recommendation to add smoked sausage, I used smoked turkey sausage and then we either dabbed on Chulula sauce or tapatio. Instant hit in the house! I froze some to defrost at a later time, I don't think that will be too far off. Delicious...thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is absolutely awesome! I added quite a bit of cajun seasoning and used the hottest Rotel tomatoes. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The seasonings have to be revved up in this one. I recommend black pepper, cayenne, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeni
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made the gumbo tonight. Omitted the celery and added sausage as recommended by others. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this for guests NY Day. It was a huge hit. None of us like the taste of sassafrass/file' so I was happy not to have to omit anything. We all loved it with my award winning cornbread. This a keeper & a lovely winter supper. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I noticed there is corn and sausage in the Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo picture, but there is none mentioned in the list of ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States