Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Made this tonight I didn't realize I didn't have any chicken broth so used beef broth and it is was still really good. I also cooked a pound of bacon, chopped it and added it. It was very good! My girlfriend is pretty picky and she age it two thumbs up as well. Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Excellent recipe. Followed the recipe and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
GREAT dish for New Years day to get in those black-eyed peas! I added frozen okra to give it more of a GUMBO feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I added creole seasoning, cayenne pepper, and chili powder. I cooked the rice separately along with some cornbread. Such a delicious meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
After reading some of the reviews I decided to add creole seasoning and also added smoked sausage. It was really simple and quick! Being a working mom I like to do what I can to save time so I have a huge bag of chopped onion, pepper, celery that I buy from the grocery store. I just added 2 cups of the vegetable mixture and sautéed with the smoked sausage. I then added 3 cans of blackeyed peas, 2 cans of diced tomatoes and instead of the 2 cups of chicken broth, I just added chicken bouillon to flavor it. I usually don't have good outcomes with cooking rice in gumbo/jambalaya dishes because it never comes out in the consistency that I would like so now I cook my rice separately and either add it at the end or pour the gumbo over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Added some hot sauce to give it an extra kick. Overall an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Added andouille sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Really good! I love everything in this recipe, so it was a no-brainer for me. I changed it a little: used 28oz Rotel instead of any plain diced tomatoes and didn't cook rice in it. I served it on baked potatoes with garlic bread on the side. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a real "stick to your ribs" dish. Omitted the celery, as we don't care for it, and added a ring of spicy sausage link, and 1/2 small can of jalapeños. Otherwise made as directed and was wonderful! Am going to make again soon. JD The Old Cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J D

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Commerce City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States