Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
THIS WAS GREAT! I had this for a New Year's Brunch and it was a huge hit! I "constructed it" two nights before in a crock pot and kept it refrigerated until New Year's morning. I had the recipe scaled for 12, and omited one of the cans of tomato so it would fit into the crock pot. It was WONDERFUL!!! I will be making this again!!! (Just finished the leftovers tonight!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL AND GREAT TASTING DISH. I USED 1 BAG OF FROZEN BLACK EYED PEAS. I ALSO USED LEAN, THICK CUT BACON AND ONCE THE CHOWDER WAS COMPLETED ADDED THE COOKED BACON BACK IN. A DISH THAT CAN NOT BE FULLY APPRECIATED UNLESS YOU COOK IT A COUPLE OF DAYS AHEAD OF TIME. VERY EASY TO PREPARE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Pretty good. I used Chicken broth instead of beef broth and added some pepper to spice it up a bit. Also, may be better with 2 cans of black-eyed peas instead of 1 because the tomatoes were numerous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Very tasty soup. I used lean 'weight watchers' bacon, added another cup of celery and then liquidised 3/4 of the soup. Delicious, very filling, non fattening and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This recipe was wonderful. Everyone loved it. I don't normally like black eyed peas but this soup is out of this world. Thank You!! It also "saved me"-I didn't know what to fix that included black eyed peas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I use "Sizzle-Lean" instead of bacon and also puree my tomatoes and add a can of whole kernal corn. Makes an excellent winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Not bad. As written, it's a little bit bland, so I added some red pepper flakes, cayenne, and garlic powder. I like the versatility of this recipe - you can have it over rice or noodles, with potatoes, or on its own with some nice crusty bread. Oh, don't make the mistake I did: I made this New Year's Eve, and threw the bacon in with the other ingredients. When we came to eat it New Year's Day, the bacon had lost its lovely crispiness, and was really soggy. Anyway, thanks, Brenda! And Happy New Year all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was good, not great. It could have used more black eyed peas and bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I first made this recipe the day after New Year's in 1999 when I had a bowl full of peas left. My variation on this recipe is to use one can of Rotel tomatoes and a 14 ounce can of regular diced tomatoes or stewed tomatoes. Of course being soup, you can anything you desire. If you don't have Rotel tomatoes, add a small can of green chiles or jalepenos to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This chowder needed a little help to make it a more subtancial meal for our family. So I added about 1 pound of peeled shrimp (you can also use grilled shrimp) for added flavor and it made all the difference! I also doubled the recipe and froze some for later -- it was even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States