Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
i loved it , it was the best time i ever tasted black eyed peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was really good! Due to the severe lack of spices in this recipe I improvised with salt, pepper, Mrs. Dash and a little cayenne. Turned out great. Served it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
More of a soup than a chowder. Add more beans to make it chunkier and more chowder-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe. Quick and tasty!! I used red and green peppers, and onions all sliced, not chopped. It makes a colorful and appetizing presentation. Using canned peas, I can have this easy soup/chowder anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was very good! I added an extra can of beans and used Honey Maple Bacon - the thick cut kind and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very tasty. I was going to make exactly as recipe states but decided to add another can of black eyed peas as stated in other reviews and I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I loved this but changed a couple of things. I used two cans of peas, one can of Rotel tomatoes and added rice and okra! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
5 stars for a good idea. I cooked a pot of blackeyed peas and hog jowl for New Years Day. I let the time get away from me, my 5 yr. old granddaughter slept over and I was busy eairlier than usual on the holiday. I got a late start, They had to be done around noon for the family gathering and the peas and jowl were not, to say the least, very good...The guests were polite and ate some ( the jowl was fried a bit then cooked in the pot a little more. My bad.) The bell peppers, diced tomatoes and a bit of fresh fried bacon will give me an opportunity to save the left overs from the compost pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was good, not great. It could have used more black eyed peas and bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States