Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
This recipe was wonderful. Everyone loved it. I don't normally like black eyed peas but this soup is out of this world. Thank You!! It also "saved me"-I didn't know what to fix that included black eyed peas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I first made this recipe the day after New Year's in 1999 when I had a bowl full of peas left. My variation on this recipe is to use one can of Rotel tomatoes and a 14 ounce can of regular diced tomatoes or stewed tomatoes. Of course being soup, you can anything you desire. If you don't have Rotel tomatoes, add a small can of green chiles or jalepenos to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
THIS WAS GREAT! I had this for a New Year's Brunch and it was a huge hit! I "constructed it" two nights before in a crock pot and kept it refrigerated until New Year's morning. I had the recipe scaled for 12, and omited one of the cans of tomato so it would fit into the crock pot. It was WONDERFUL!!! I will be making this again!!! (Just finished the leftovers tonight!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Very tasty soup. I used lean 'weight watchers' bacon, added another cup of celery and then liquidised 3/4 of the soup. Delicious, very filling, non fattening and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL AND GREAT TASTING DISH. I USED 1 BAG OF FROZEN BLACK EYED PEAS. I ALSO USED LEAN, THICK CUT BACON AND ONCE THE CHOWDER WAS COMPLETED ADDED THE COOKED BACON BACK IN. A DISH THAT CAN NOT BE FULLY APPRECIATED UNLESS YOU COOK IT A COUPLE OF DAYS AHEAD OF TIME. VERY EASY TO PREPARE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I thought this dish was very good. I didn't think I would ever be able to make a black eyed pea dish that my picky boyfriend would try. We both loved it and keep all the ingredients handy for when we crave this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Willows, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This recipe was a big hit! I made it for New Year's Eve and served it with cabbage. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I used frozen peas, so it took longer to cook, and I had to add more liquid. It was delicious. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is a regular in the winter time in our house. We like using the black-eyed peas w/jalepenos for that little zip and serve with hot corn bread. The nice thing is that you can use any kind of bean....try black beans...mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I have been searching for a way to make Black-Eyed Peas for years, since my husband "has" to have them for good luck. This recipe will be our family dish for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scherrer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I had never eaten black eyed peas before trying this recipe. I use dried peas and alter the tomatoes to our favored ratio. I also use real bacon bits so that it is EASY and I always have the needed ingredients on hand. My husband and I make this soup frequently during the winter. Very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States