Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great basic recipe. I added an extra can of peas, some garlic powder and black pepper to give a little more flavor. I also topped with shredded cheese when serving. Great dish to ring in the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Amazingly good and simple to fix! We made this to have our lucky blacked eyed peas on new year's day and it's so good we've decided to add it to our regular winter rotation. It's THAT good. Brenda - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very tasty. I added a bit of garlic powder, salt and pepper. I cooked everything with fresh ingredients, and used dried peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this today and it was awesome! The only change I made was added a little more "spice", but would have been wonderful without it. Just personal preference. I did use diced tomatos,because didn't have stewed on hand. Will make this again, even if it's not "New Years".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is very good. I made it as written only adding a second can of peas, some cooked rice at the end and 1 tsp of Creole seasoning. Going to let it sit overnight and then have it for tomorrow's lunch topped with the bacon and maybe even some sliced green onions on top and some corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. Similar to others, I used chicken broth instead of the beef consomme, two cans of Blackeye Peas and one can of spicy chipotle tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I always make my husband eat black eyed peas on New Years Day for good luck. He hates them, so this year I decided to stop torturing him and find a recipe including black eyed peas that he would enjoy. This was great! In addition to the black eyed peas I added a can of kidney beans because I thought it needed some more texture. I also added garlic and some other spices. I served this with Waikiki Cornbread - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a new favorite in our house!!! It gets 5 stars all around!!! I served it with Jiffy corn muffins!!! Yummm.... It was so good!!! You have to give it a try! You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I double this recipe, and it's gobbled up in a hurry. The first time I made this it was great, but I've added a few things that have people begging for the recipe every time. It goes as follows: 3 (15.5 oz) cans black eyed peas with liquid 2 (14.5 ounce) cans beef broth + 3 cubes beef bouillon 2 (29 ounce) cans PETITE diced seasoned tomatoes 1 1/2 cup chopped onion 12 oz Pkg Morning Star Crumbles 1 (4 ounce) can diced green chilies 3 TBS Kitchen Bouquet or Gravy Master 1 TBS Chili Powder 1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper 1/2 tsp Celery Seed Garlic Croutons Provolone Cheese 1 to 2 pounds of CRISP crumbled bacon (I use pre-cooked packaged bacon) 1. In a large pot, combine all ingredients. Bring to a rolling boil. Boil 5 minutes stirring frequently. Reduce heat to low. Simmer for a half hour or so. 2. Store in refrigerator over night. 3. Prior to serving, bring soup to a boil, stirring frequently and reduce heat to low. 4. Meanwhile, fry bacon and crumble to serve atop soup. 5. Spoon soup into serving bowls, cover with croutons, top with 1 slice of Provolone, sprinkle with crumbled bacon and microwave just until cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Really easy and really good! I didn't need to make any modifications. This recipe is great to have on hand for new years or even a cold and rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States