Black-Eyed Pea Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
More of a soup than a chowder. Add more beans to make it chunkier and more chowder-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe. Quick and tasty!! I used red and green peppers, and onions all sliced, not chopped. It makes a colorful and appetizing presentation. Using canned peas, I can have this easy soup/chowder anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was very good! I added an extra can of beans and used Honey Maple Bacon - the thick cut kind and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very tasty. I was going to make exactly as recipe states but decided to add another can of black eyed peas as stated in other reviews and I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I loved this but changed a couple of things. I used two cans of peas, one can of Rotel tomatoes and added rice and okra! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
5 stars for a good idea. I cooked a pot of blackeyed peas and hog jowl for New Years Day. I let the time get away from me, my 5 yr. old granddaughter slept over and I was busy eairlier than usual on the holiday. I got a late start, They had to be done around noon for the family gathering and the peas and jowl were not, to say the least, very good...The guests were polite and ate some ( the jowl was fried a bit then cooked in the pot a little more. My bad.) The bell peppers, diced tomatoes and a bit of fresh fried bacon will give me an opportunity to save the left overs from the compost pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was good, not great. It could have used more black eyed peas and bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great basic recipe. I added an extra can of peas, some garlic powder and black pepper to give a little more flavor. I also topped with shredded cheese when serving. Great dish to ring in the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Amazingly good and simple to fix! We made this to have our lucky blacked eyed peas on new year's day and it's so good we've decided to add it to our regular winter rotation. It's THAT good. Brenda - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States