Black-Eyed Pea Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
Where I am from we call this Texas Caviar and Yankees don't like it as much as Southerners do! I sometimes slice a baguette and bake at 350 for 6-8 minutes to "scoop up" the caviar. I usually make it 3 days ahead. This is a fabulous dish that can really be served at any kind of party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This was great! Will sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Abolutely wonderful. Tasty, attractive in its own way..My guests loved it over the Holidays. And the flavors only get better with time. Some chopping so parents may want to help younger kids make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Yummmy!!! Makes a great bean salad, i added lemon, mustard powder, sumac and it was WONDERFUL!!!!Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I served this as a Christmas appetizer & everyone loved it. My grandmother even asked me for the recipe.. isn't it supposed to be the other way around? =) I changed it a little bit though. I didn't put in any fresh peppers because I don't like them. I added 1 diced tomato & freshly squeezed lemon juice. Instead of pita chips I cut fresh pita bread into triangles. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I really loved this recipe as did all my guests at our christmas party. I like everyone else had to make a few minor changes, I added corn and chopped fresh jalapenos (here in San Antonio we add chilies to everything),and served with corn chips. I have seen similar recipes called cowboy caviar, but the spice combination in this recipe is wonderful. I will be serving this again next week for our bible study under the catagory of "heavy appitizer" and can hardly wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe! I had to substitute Dijon mustard because i had no coarse grain mustard on hand and this worked well. I also added couscous to make it a bit of a more hefty sidedish which was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
We LOVED this recipe!!! The flavor was great and I will be making it again and again. The only thing I changed was to not add the green pepper and the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was wonderful! I made it exactly like this except that I added 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar. Made it even better. I serve it on top of greens for a wonderful salad. Also, I serve it with tortilla chips and pita chips. It is really good just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Great - I got rave reviews. I think adding an avocado and/or tomatoe would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States