Black-Eyed Pea Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Meh, this was rather bland. I think it would have been much better with some lime juice (which I didn't have). I won't make this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Great - I got rave reviews. I think adding an avocado and/or tomatoe would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was wonderful! I made it exactly like this except that I added 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar. Made it even better. I serve it on top of greens for a wonderful salad. Also, I serve it with tortilla chips and pita chips. It is really good just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
We LOVED this recipe!!! The flavor was great and I will be making it again and again. The only thing I changed was to not add the green pepper and the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This didn't go over too well at my party, but I think it's because several people mentioned they thought the black-eyed peas were beans. If I made it again for a buffet, I think I'd label it with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe! I had to substitute Dijon mustard because i had no coarse grain mustard on hand and this worked well. I also added couscous to make it a bit of a more hefty sidedish which was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Have tried 3 different versions of this recipe. This is the one that works. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I really loved this recipe as did all my guests at our christmas party. I like everyone else had to make a few minor changes, I added corn and chopped fresh jalapenos (here in San Antonio we add chilies to everything),and served with corn chips. I have seen similar recipes called cowboy caviar, but the spice combination in this recipe is wonderful. I will be serving this again next week for our bible study under the catagory of "heavy appitizer" and can hardly wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I served this as a Christmas appetizer & everyone loved it. My grandmother even asked me for the recipe.. isn't it supposed to be the other way around? =) I changed it a little bit though. I didn't put in any fresh peppers because I don't like them. I added 1 diced tomato & freshly squeezed lemon juice. Instead of pita chips I cut fresh pita bread into triangles. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I really didnt like this too much. It was rather dry, maybe with a different type of bean it could have been better? The black black eyed peas came canned in this pink slim, which after I rinsed didnt smell to good. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States