Black-Eyed Pea and Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Not a fan of black eyed peas but my husband loves them. This recipe was tasty enough for me to really enjoy and even my picky hubby liked it too. Next time I'll use peppered bacon just to give it a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I've made this soup MANY times over the past couple of years! It's definately my "go-to" soup recipe! Sometimes I add ham in place of bacon. You can also leave out the potatoes & it's just as good & hearty! Freezes well too! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I really loved this recipe. It was delicious over cornbread. I added more bacon and used frozen black-eyed peas instead of fresh since I had them on hand. It was a great was enjoy a New Year's tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Yum! Great, easy recipe. Just made this to have tomorrow for New Years lunch, and plan to serve with the Waikiki Cornbread recipe from this site. Used pepper-crusted bacon like the last reviewer (used the full pound - we like bacon!), and added a few dashes of hot pepper sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Very good; will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was GREAT! I was afraid of the amount of salt so I did make a few adjustments: Used only 1 bullion cube, a quart of low salt chicken broth and only 2 quarts of water. I also used cracked pepper crusted bacon (yum!)I didn't add any extra salt or pepper. At the end I added a few pinches of cayenne and a couple dashes of cajun seasoning. I cooled it and refrigerated it overnight to let the flavors meld together. Great soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The end result was very tasty, but it took quite a bit longer to make this than what the recipe stated. Perhaps soaking the beans overnight would have speeded up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Only added about 1.5 quarts of water. Served over corn bread. Very yummy, reminded me of my grandmother. Even the kids ate it. Thanks, I was craving black eyed peas and no recipe to pull from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was perfect for a dreary day. I didn't have enough bacon so I added smoked sausage as well and this turned it into a real meal. I also added 2 cups of carrots, which improved the heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I added some garlic and carrots - I thought the soup was great!! Definitely not a typical soup. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I liked this recipe and so did my husband. I let it simmer for about 30 minutes longer so that it would thicken. I used a little more salt and added Tony Cachero's cajun seasoning to give it just a little kick. Very easy and it went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States