Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Isn't it interesting how so many people can make the same recipe with such different results? Also curious is how a submitted recipe is altered by some cooks and then given a bad review. Having said that, I made this just as written (half recipe) in a mini egg shape pan from Williams Sonoma (eight to the pan). SO good! Fragrant, dark, moist, luscious little dark chocolate cakes. I used "Hard Chocolate Glaze" (also fabulous) to dip them in, then made a bakery style creamy white frosting to decorate them. These were to die for! Tasted like an infinitely better version of Hostess cupcakes! In fact, I could easily see this made in a cupcake tin to duplicate them near exactly. I know I will definitely use this recipe (with the glaze) again--and again--and again. All around, an easy to mix cake that yields perfect results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I originally gave this 4 stars but after making it again with another modification I am adding another star. Here's the trick: instead of water, heat up 2 c milk, add 2 heaping teaspoons of instant coffee and use that to dissolve the shortening. It makes a big difference by bringing out the chocolate flavor, rather than diluting it. Frosted with Caroline's Fudge Frosting from this site. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Everyone loves this cake. I used this recipe exactly. I've made a variation of this before, where I substituted 1 cup of boiling water with 1 cup of milk and the 1/2 cup butter for 1/2 cup applesauce. I prefer the recipe with applesauce because the applesauce makes it more moist and it doesn't affect the taste at all. Less guilt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVeLLe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This cake was absolutely delectable! And black just as the name says. I made a couple of modifications: I used 1/3 a cup of canola oil and 1/3 of a cup of low-fat yogurt to cut back on fat, and it was still incredibly moist. I also cut back the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I made a glaze with 1 cup of chocolate chips, 1 cup of whipping cream and 2 tsp of vanilla. There were raves all around when I served it. Thanks for a fantastic recipe that I'm planning to use very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I highly recommend this recipe. You can make it ahead and it stays moist. Freezes extremely well too. Much better result when mixed by hand. Big fav with both big and little kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Thanks for a great recipe, Jeanie! As is my habit, I substituted 2 cups strong coffee for the water, and added 1t more salt and 2T sugar, if you can believe it! I like my cakes a touch sweeter....But even without my modifications, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I thought this cake was great! It was dense yet very moist and black, as the recipe title indicates. It bakes nicely too - quite level. I didn't have to level the cake at all. I used 2-9" round cake pans. As per a couple of readers suggestions, I did use 2 cups of boiling water with 2 heaping teaspoons of instant decaf coffee. One problem I did have is that, despite greasing and flouring the pans, the cakes stuck. One came out nearly perfect and the other one stuck so badly that I couldn't salvage it. I halved the recipe (halves perfectly) and made one more cake. It stuck pretty badly too but I was able to salvage it and use it anyway. For slightly thicker cake layers I would use this recipe plus 1/2 of it. It would be great alone or dusted with cocoa or confectioner's sugar. I iced it with a fabulous chocolate fudge frusting. MMMMMMM!!! I will make this recipe again - definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Perfect... Rich... Moist... The best chocolate cake I have ever eaten or made. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
This is undoubtedly the best and easiest chocolate cake ever, after reading reviews, I decided to go with the original recipe and not change a thing! It's perfect and my fiance loves it! It's not too sweet despite 2 Cups of sugar and is deliciously moist! Try it, you'll love it! Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
giving this 4 stars for ease of preparation. Used butter flavor crisco, had 1 cup of leftover coffee so used that for part of the water, and added some espresso powder to boil with the water. I didn't even use my beaters, just a wire wisk. I think the espresso powder added to the flavor of the chocolate and although I just used Hershey's powder, it tasted like it was a more expensive chocolate. Made this into a bundt cake and baked @55 minutes in my oven. Made a small review 'muffin' and although it did not puff up on top, this would be a good cake to make into a layer because it does bake even. Not over the top sweet and drizzled the bundt cake with some leftover cream cheese frosting when it was slightly warm. Used butter cooking spray for the pan and had no trouble with it sticking. It was gone in 8 hours but I found it did crumble a bit although it was moist. I would maybe throw in a tablespoon or two of applesauce. Maybe using oil instead of shortening would help the crumble problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States