Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Delicious!! Very easy recipe with great results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious cake and easy to make. Will be baking more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Yum..I added chocolate chips as well and is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was very good. This is a very dense cake and would be excellent to use as a 3 or more layer cake or torte. I baked this in two 8" cake pans and they had to bake at least 36 min. I also used strong coffee instead of the water in the recipe. I read that the cake would sometimes stick to the bottom of the pan, so I lined bottom of pans with wax paper and they came out perfect. I just used a canned chocolate fudge frosting making this quite decadent. This cake is so moist that it actually broke apart overnight during storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiminnc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I did this recipe again, but this time I took many suggestions regarding the boiled water to melt the shortening. I used 1 cup milk and one water with 2 T instant coffee, and that made all of the difference. It was delicious and was perfectly level..Also a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a GREAT cake and is gone almost immediately at bake sales. I make the Ghirardelli chocolate frosting and it makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanaxela

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow! Great Cake and I don't even like chocolate cake. Everyone said this was there favorite chocolate cake! I made it for Thanksgiving! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Dense and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this last weekend for my husband's birthday. I followed the recipe pretty closely--I did add the heaping teaspoon of instant coffee and dissolved the cocoa powder in the water as well because I read somewhere it helps bring out the chocolatey taste. My family enjoyed the cake. However, I have to agree with the reviewer who said it had a box-mix taste. I think it is better than a box-mix cake, but it does have that same sort of spongy texture. If you are looking for a denser cakey cake with a finer crumb, then you should find a recipe that calls for creaming the sugar and fat and then adding the dry ingredients. I just didn't have the energy, which is why I chose this simple recipe. It is pretty easy to prepare and there isn't a lot of cleanup afterwards. The batter was very thin and I was worried too, but it baked up just fine. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
VERY good! I made this cake for my dad's birthday and it was amasing! I made a square cake of it, smothered it in cherry pie filling and served it with whipped cream. He ADORED it. I will make one technical comment on it, and that is do not try to make this in a 2-piece bundt pan...mine started in one but because of all the water it leaked out! So I scraped it into a square pan and it was brilliant. I was shy on cocoa so 2 tbsp of the cocoa was replaced with hot chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States