Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
YUMMY chocolate cake! I love chocolate, but don't always love chocolate cake. This one is moist and had good flavor. I substituted butter for the shortening because of some food allergies/sensitivities in my family and the cake still came out wonderful. The leftover cake also stayed moist and didn't get stale for nearly a week. I was amazed! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very moist, easy cake. I made it with 2 Tbs. instant coffee in the boiling water and it was divine. I cut each 9" round in half horizontally and filled each layer with the sweetened whipped cream recipe then coated in all in the pro ganache recipe on this site. Next time I will double the whipped cream recipe (wasn't enough) and add more sugar, it's not a very sweet cake with the bitterness of the coffee. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was easy to make and turned out very moist! I made cupcakes instead of a cake and it still took around the same time to bake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
extremely rich and moist cake which didn't last long in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
SOOOOO rich!! absolutely amazinggg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beatingx3hearts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Dense and moist, I used this recipe for my brother's wedding cake. It didn't crumb up when I frosted it and it stacked well. It also filled circle pans exactly to size, it didn't come away from the sides at all. My brother said it was the best wedding cake he'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is a very good chocolate cake. I made it as directed and it was very moist. It's not my favorite, but it's close. My favorite is the one bowl recipe on the back of the can of Hershey's Dark Cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very very easy to cut in half.... it was a simple recipe. I didnt' find it nearly sweet enough. Maybe I should added extra sugar. I just wasn't nuts about this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Was looking for a cake recipe to put together in a hurry and this fit the bill. I followed the recipe exactly and made mini cupcakes, adjusting the baking time to suit. They came out wonderful. They weren't the most moist chocolate cake I've ever had but the chocolate flavour came through nicely. I frosted with Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing (recipe also on this site) and it was great for a evening snack. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Excellent. I used Hershey's special dark cocoa powder. Rich, dark chocolate cake that is perfectly moist. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplesun7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States