Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayflower19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've been searching for a home made chocolate cake recipe to use for my B&B and this will be it! I add 2 heaping tablespoons of instant espresso to the boiling water - this is a fabulous cake! It does tend to stick to pans; I generously greased and floured my pans and then put wax paper in the bottom of the 9" round pans and sprayed the wax paper with Pam then poured in the batter, and they came out just fine. This amount of batter made three 9" cake layers that were a reasonable thickness for a 3 layer cake (not so tall that it was difficult to transport). I used the coconut cream cheese frosting recipe from this website and did not frost the sides of the cake, only between the layers and on top. Then I patted toasted coconut on to the exposed frosting between the layers and on the top - the cake was beautiful, magazine quality to look at, and tasted unbelievably good. I have also added mini-chips to the cake batter and that's a nice addition, but makes it tough to get the layers out of the pans. In the future, if I add mini-chocolate chips, I will bake the layers for 5-10 mins and then sprinkle the chips on top of the layers of batter and return them to the oven. That should help prevent the chips from immediately sinking down to the bottom of the cake layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This cake was so disappointing! :( I made it EXACTLY as described, with the only (minor) change being that I used hot brewed coffee in place of the boiling water. Others had suggested that this would help bring out the chocolate flavor, but not only didn't this cake taste very chocolate-y, it also didn't taste very SWEET--a big surprise given the amount of sugar! Finally, the cake stuck to the pan, and it didn't hold together very well. Overall, the taste was just okay and definitely not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I wasn't too fond of this recipe, although my husband loved it. I made it this weekend for Valentine's Day. It was too heavy for my liking. The consistency was more like brownies than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I think it needs butter instead of shortening and hot milk instead of boiling water. Those substitutions give the cake the richness that makes it shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This came out beautifully. I subbed coffee for the water and butter for the shortening. I am a beginning baker who is always looking for simple, straightforward, fail-proof recipes and this is one of them. It is fast and has a great chocolate flavor. I made it with a vanilla cream cheese frosting but it could be dressed up in so many ways. Probably makes great cupcakes too! Thanks Jeanie Bean, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I love this recipe, I used the coffee technique and it came out perfect! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This definitely satifisfied my chocolate cravings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Fantastic! Super moist and wonderfully easy. I did not have the problem of a dry surface as I have had with a lot of cakes :) UPDATE: this is my go-to cake now. I make it ALL the time, consistently producing good results. In a big round tin, usually looks great. I always use only butter, and bake at 170C it takes about 10-12 mins more but it tastes better. Often use coffee instead of water because that brings out the deep flavour of cocoa. Also, egg substitutes work well. Warning: DO NOT use a springform tin - the batter is quite runny (like the consistency of cream) and seeps right through (of course still edible and yum)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
YUMMY chocolate cake! I love chocolate, but don't always love chocolate cake. This one is moist and had good flavor. I substituted butter for the shortening because of some food allergies/sensitivities in my family and the cake still came out wonderful. The leftover cake also stayed moist and didn't get stale for nearly a week. I was amazed! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States