Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made cream filled cupcakes using this recipe for the cake and the Satiny Chocolate Glaze on this site for the tops (canned white frosting for the squiggles). The cake is SPOT on for these cupcakes. At first I thought they were a bit dry as I'm used to the cake mix chocolate cakes, but when you hit the cream filling it's a PERFECT combo! The color is also a deep dark chocolate. THANKS for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
made this for my dad and loved it with chocolate cream cheese frosting.. going to make a boat birthday cake for my sons 3rd bday with this but have yet to decide on what flavour to put in the middle of the layers... suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dinah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Visually, the end product looks delicious, but I found that it lacks flavor and isn't sweet enough. I may tweek it a bit and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I make this cake all the time. I even use it to make cupcakes for my kids parties at school. I make no modifications. This cake is very moist and I cannot put into words how good this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I was craving chocolate cake and decided on this recipe because it looked like it would be very quick and easy to prepare. It was, and it is delicious! We couldn't even wait for it to cool all the way, so we're eating it warm with a homemade cream cheese frosting. I used a white ww flour that I always sub for all-purpose, I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 c., and I used butter because I never use shortening. I also used about 1/2 tsp. salt. I baked it in a 9x13 glass dish and it was done at exactly 30 min, though I did check at 25 just to be sure I didn't overbake. I will try the suggestions for using coffee next time, but I think it is very flavorful and chocolaty just with the water.*UPDATE* I used coffee last time I made this since a lot of reviewers recommended it. I actually think it tastes better not using coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
The best from scratch chocolate recipe I've found! I loved that it was dark and it was kinda fudgey. I used milk instead of water, didn't have shortening so used oil (just a little less), and added about 1/3 cup of melted semisweet chocolate chips just to make it a little more chocolatey. My in-laws, husband, and I loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this cake to accomodate a friend who is lactose intolerant. I followed the recipe as stated and thought the cake was pretty moist. I made it into a bundt cake and frosted it with a chocolate glaze. Not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I chose this cake recipe to make for my husband's birthday... his favorite chocolate! I used half cup of coconut flour, and the rest organic white flour. For the shortening, I used coconut oil instead. The flour has a lot of fiber in it, and the oil keeps the fat from storing in the cells. This recipe came out perfect.. very moist! For the frosting, I used the fluffy peanut butter recipe, and the chocolate ganache glaze on this site. To die for! Will definitely make this for future chocolate cake lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was a pretty good chocolate cake. After baking, the top looked so glossy and shiney and beautiful that I almost didn't want to frost it. It was a moist cake but had a texture that was not quite what I was used to... I think because of all the shortening in the recipe. It grew on me and was especially yummy with the Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States