Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
LOVE this cake!!! It was perfect for my son who has a milk allergy. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Loved this cake! I went with the original version and only altered it to cut down on the fat & sugar content. Still tasted amazing and was just like a devil's food cake mix, without all the processing and chemicals. I subbed 1/3 applesauce, 1 cup of Splenda, and 1 cup of milk, for half of the original ingredients (1/3 short + 1/3 applesauce, etc). Worked out well and I used a cream cheese chocolate frosting. Fantastic and I'll make it again. Thanks, Jeanie for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was so rich and delicious. Frosted and covered, it stayed good longer than most cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
so moist and perfect! These were my substitutions. Instead of 2 cups of boiling water I used 1c water and 1c vanilla rice milk. Instead of 2 tsp vanilla extract I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp chocolate liquer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Hands down the best chocolate cake recipe ever. I substituted butter for the shortening and coffee for the water. I frosted the cake with Bourbon cream cheese frosting from this site. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Off. The. Charts. Insane. No, really. This totally reminds me of Dad's Chocolate Death Cake with all the chocolate-y goodness. I followed this recipe exactly, frosting it with my own Chocolate Buttermilk Frosting and whoa, dude. I have to watch how much I have with my weight loss journey but my husband has had two pieces already and looks to be in a chocolate coma. This is awesome--nevermind simple as heckfire to assemble. New favorite chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Loved this recipe, the only thing I changed was replace one of the cups of boiling water with milk. Excellent! Frosted with Ermin Icing. Will make again and again. I had no problem with cake sticking to pan as others have had, but I was especially generous with greasing and flouring pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is chocolate cake recipe should be in everyone's recipe box! It was as moist as any boxed cake mix I've ever made but I had the satisfaction of telling my family that I made it from scratch. As some reviewers said, it wasn't as sweet as some other cakes I've made but that was perfect since the butter cream icing I used was very sweet. Nice contrast. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This cake is fantastic and perfect for any day! I am allergic to dairy and i thought it was heaven! Instead of plain shortening, I used canola oil butter. When you are mixing the flour mixture with the hot water, "stab" the mixture with a fork so you will break any powder balls, or else small bubbles will appear in the cake. The cake had an amazing appearance as i took it out of the oven! If you are not a fan of icing or frosting, you should put powdered sugar on top of the cake. I will use this recipe of cake for every birthday I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
MMMMMMM! This was so delicious and so moist! I made this with the Banana Nut Frosting (also from allrecipes). I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States