Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I gave this cake one star because it came out looking like a cake. It was easy to prepare and assemble. There are a few problems though. Shortening starts exploding when bringing to a boil. Grease fire hazard: use caution. In addition; the cake comes out very dry and crumbly. Don't let the batter fool you into thinking the cake will be fudgey and gooey. I followed the recipe to the exact measurements and it turned out an extremely dry cake. Either is only meant for low altitude or is a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This cake is just wonderful!! Made for a co-workers Birthday, and everyone raved about it. Frosted with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting from this site also. Will make again, thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Moist and delicious. Very easy to make with ingredients that are readily available in most kitchens. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1.5 cups and I can still taste the sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I've finally found the recipe with the perfect moist texture to make cupcakes for my son's bday. I have done many other chocolate cake recipe and have come out dry. This recipe was so easy and came out nice and bouncy.****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
LOVE this cake!!! It was perfect for my son who has a milk allergy. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Loved this cake! I went with the original version and only altered it to cut down on the fat & sugar content. Still tasted amazing and was just like a devil's food cake mix, without all the processing and chemicals. I subbed 1/3 applesauce, 1 cup of Splenda, and 1 cup of milk, for half of the original ingredients (1/3 short + 1/3 applesauce, etc). Worked out well and I used a cream cheese chocolate frosting. Fantastic and I'll make it again. Thanks, Jeanie for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was so rich and delicious. Frosted and covered, it stayed good longer than most cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
so moist and perfect! These were my substitutions. Instead of 2 cups of boiling water I used 1c water and 1c vanilla rice milk. Instead of 2 tsp vanilla extract I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp chocolate liquer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Hands down the best chocolate cake recipe ever. I substituted butter for the shortening and coffee for the water. I frosted the cake with Bourbon cream cheese frosting from this site. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Off. The. Charts. Insane. No, really. This totally reminds me of Dad's Chocolate Death Cake with all the chocolate-y goodness. I followed this recipe exactly, frosting it with my own Chocolate Buttermilk Frosting and whoa, dude. I have to watch how much I have with my weight loss journey but my husband has had two pieces already and looks to be in a chocolate coma. This is awesome--nevermind simple as heckfire to assemble. New favorite chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States