Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Best chocolate cake we have tasted so far. I didn't have shortening so I used oil. Really moist and comes out of pan easily. I used cool whip on top instead of frosting because it is sweet enough. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I tried this recipe for a birthday cake substituting the 3/4 cup shortening for 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup of applesauce. The batter was very thin and watery but got thicker once I added the flour. I used 2 9 inch rounds instead of a 9 x 13. The cake was very moist and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
My husband is a chocoholic and was I looking for a birthday cake that he would rave about. Found this and baked it, was a big hit. The cake is moist and delicious. I used sugar free chocolate icing to minimize the caloric impact but will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is the recipe that my mom used to make and long ago lost to me! Followed directions exactly except substituted butter for shortening. Excellent excellent! Thank you for returning a wonderful childhood memory to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
So moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I don't know what we did wrong when following this recipe, but it was so bad that it was inedible. Followed the directions exactly...definitely will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow Bondietti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was a cinch to throw together, and was moist & tasty. Thanks...this is my new go to chocolate cake. My favorite thing about this cake is it is not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeCooksNomNoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA
Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Wow!!! The best choclate cake I have ever had. No need to change a thing. I made cupcakes with this recipe and they were so delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Super delicious cake. In place of 2 C boiling water, I did 1C water, 1C milk, really hot in the microwave, so the shortening didn't melt completely, but I mixed it in. Anyway, the cake is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Really delicious. I made this for my older son's birthday cake today. I subbed one cup of boiling coffee for 1 cup of water and used canola oil in place of shortening. I baked it in a bundt pan....I'd say about 45 minutes, maybe 50 minutes (till it tested done). Not only was it delicious it was a perfect texture, moist and tender but not mushy. It came out of the pan quite easily. Earlier in the day we were talking about tailgating at my younger son's college game in a few weeks and deciding what to make. Halfway through his cake he said "you can make this cake to bring". There you go...enough said! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States