Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was a cinch to throw together, and was moist & tasty. Thanks...this is my new go to chocolate cake. My favorite thing about this cake is it is not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeCooksNomNoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA
Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Wow!!! The best choclate cake I have ever had. No need to change a thing. I made cupcakes with this recipe and they were so delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Super delicious cake. In place of 2 C boiling water, I did 1C water, 1C milk, really hot in the microwave, so the shortening didn't melt completely, but I mixed it in. Anyway, the cake is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Really delicious. I made this for my older son's birthday cake today. I subbed one cup of boiling coffee for 1 cup of water and used canola oil in place of shortening. I baked it in a bundt pan....I'd say about 45 minutes, maybe 50 minutes (till it tested done). Not only was it delicious it was a perfect texture, moist and tender but not mushy. It came out of the pan quite easily. Earlier in the day we were talking about tailgating at my younger son's college game in a few weeks and deciding what to make. Halfway through his cake he said "you can make this cake to bring". There you go...enough said! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great mild chocolate cake that I made exacty as recipe states. Rich chocolate flavor and not too sweet. Similar to a mayonaise chocolate cake and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is truly the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted or made. Everyone who tastes it raves about it. I was even asked by a friend to make this cake for her wedding! And it's super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I hate when I devote my time and ingredients to a recipe that seems to have a perfect rating just to end up disappointed. After following the recipe TO THE TEE was that the cake was indeed chocolatey but not sweet! It crumbled very easily and no matter how much I greased and floured my good quality non stick pans, the batter still stuck and the cake made a mess just getting out of the pan. I really wanted to like it especially since this recipe didn't call for milk which I was out of but unfortunately, I did not have good results with this recipe. More power to those of you who reached success, however you did it! Thank you anyway for generously sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I live at high altitude, and it turned out fine. Not dry and crumbly. What I thought I might do next time though, is add a little more salt and some more cocoa. It was really good though with making it exact. Also, maybe find a good minty frosting recipe to add on top. As far as exploding grease; you bring the water to a boil, take it off the heat and THEN add the shortening, stirring till it melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This cake was fab!! I made it with the fluffy peanut butter frosting and it was a hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Awesome!!! Made this for a friend's birthday as a surprise-first time I tried it and it is soooo good. Very moist, dark chocolate, easy to prepare and tastes wonderful. We highly recommend this to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States