Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
Very moist and chocolatey. I almost hesitated to put frosting on it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
You have saved the day!! Made this recipe once before, and could have sworn I saved it to my recipe box,but I didn't and had to search for it again, but this cake is sooooo worth the search. Whole family just loves this one. Kuddos on an excellent contribution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
For an extra special touch, serve with the following glaze: 1/4 cup raspberry liqueur 1/2 cup butter 1/4 cup water 1 cup white sugar 2 semi-sweet baking chocolate squares (2 ounces), grated in heavy saucepan, combine butter and grated chocolate till chocolate is melted. Add 1/4 cup water, 1 cup sugar. Bring to a boil and continue boiling for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in 1/4 cup rasperry liqueur. Spoon over chocolate cake, garnish cake with fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Easy.Moist.Delicious. Thank you for this great recipe! I made the cake yesterday, and it's about gone already..sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
This was a great chocolate cake. I usually do box mixes, but didn't have one. It turned out much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Thanks for a great recipe, Jeanie! As is my habit, I substituted 2 cups strong coffee for the water, and added 1t more salt and 2T sugar, if you can believe it! I like my cakes a touch sweeter....But even without my modifications, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. It was a hit! It was moist and delicious. It was simple to make, which is good, since I am not usually a baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
My husband is a chocolate freak. This cake has been an incredible delight! I took the liberty of throwing in a cup of chopped walnuts at the very end of mixing, and use chocolate fudge frosting for the top. This cake is inhaled. So far I have made it 3 weeks in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
very good. I cut it in half lengthwise and used one half as a base to which I topped with coffee ice cream and a layer of whipped cream. I also took one user's suggestion and substituted strong coffee for the boiling water. delicious! thank you jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Congratulations Jeanie, this is a wonderful recipe, moist and chocolately, no icing required, I just dusted a little confectioners sugar on top. I also cooked 15 minutes longer in a gas oven. No more mixes for this gal. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States