Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Fabulous recipe! The only changes I made were to add instant coffee and use milk instead of the water as other reviewers suggested. I made cupcakes and iced with marshmallow frosting, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good cake. I made a few adjustments to cut the fat (used 1/3 C Golden Crisco and 1/3 C. Applesauce) and substituted 1/2 C. of the water with brewed coffee. Very light, moist, flavourful cake. I glazed it with the following while the cake was still warm: Beat together w/mixer: 2 C. Icing sugar, 2 T. Cocoa, 2 T. butter, 2 T. boiling water & 2 t. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This cake is perfect. I've made it several times with no modifications to the recipe. Very moist and a great not too sweet taste. Since I've introduced my family to this chocolate cake I have been designated the birthday cake maker. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Marvellous texture! Moist, delicate, and fudgy on top. Try to use really good quality cocoa- it takes the cake from being kind of watered-down tasting to indulgent. Layered it with whipping cream whipped with raspberry jam, and spooned thawed, unsweetened raspberries over the top. It is a soft cake, so I did have a bit of trouble getting it out of the pan in one piece- make sure the pans are really well greased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
DELICIOUS! Great chocolate flavor but not too sweet. The cake was moist. My husband requested a chocolate cake for his birthday today. My favorite is not usually chocolate cake, but this is one I would make again. Easy to make but more important it is a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I've made this cake at least 20 times, and I've never had it turn out badly once. I melt the butter in the hot water, then throw everything into my kitchenaid mixer and let it go for 10 min. I dump it into a pan 9 x 13 pan and let it bake for the allotted time. It comes out great. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
A great recipe for dark chocolate lovers because it isn't that sweet, but has the chocolate flavor. I topped my cake with a semi-sweet chocolate Kahlua ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
My husband loved it. I didn't have a sifter when I made it and it turned out so good. Better than when I use the sifter. I made this cake three times in just a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe is very simple and easy, yet the cake came out moist and delicious!!! It was not overly sweet; perfect to satisfy a salty persons sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This cake was pretty good. I followed the recipe completely except subsituting milk for water. It wasn't as sweet as I was expecting it to be. I have had sweeter and more moist cakes, it dried out fast on the ends when I was cooling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States