Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
good,but kind of dry, used brewed coffee/warmed milk mix in place of the water...better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe turned out perfect with no changes to the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I would say this cake was good, but I had a few problems with it. First, It took way longer to bake than 30 minutes. Second It didn't have quite as much taste as I was hoping for, probably not enough salt. Thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This cake was great! however it is not the strongest, richest flavor. Unfortunatly neither was the rasberry filling I use. So all in all it was kind of a bland cake. If you use a filling or a topping with a lot of punch and flavor- this would be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
The taste wasn't as strong as I had been hoping, but the texture was absolutely perfect - as in one of the best cakes I've had. Next time I'll add more cocoa. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was just ok. I wasnt blown away by the taste I found it kind of bland for a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babydoll

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is the only chocolate cake recipe I use now and it turns out beautifully every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This cake got mixed reviews in our house; followed the recipe exactly. I thought it had a strong baking powder aftertaste. The texture is dense and spongy, my husband thought it was one of my non-fat concoctions. My daughter who usually only eats frosting liked the cake, my other daughter wouldn't eat it. To its credit, this cake is very chocolatey. If I make again, I may try subbing milk or coffee for the water, and might add some chocolate chips too. (I originally gave this 3 stars but added a star - the flavor was better the following day.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Fabulous recipe! The only changes I made were to add instant coffee and use milk instead of the water as other reviewers suggested. I made cupcakes and iced with marshmallow frosting, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good cake. I made a few adjustments to cut the fat (used 1/3 C Golden Crisco and 1/3 C. Applesauce) and substituted 1/2 C. of the water with brewed coffee. Very light, moist, flavourful cake. I glazed it with the following while the cake was still warm: Beat together w/mixer: 2 C. Icing sugar, 2 T. Cocoa, 2 T. butter, 2 T. boiling water & 2 t. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States