Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Very chocolate-y and not too sweet. Adults enjoyed more than kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My spouse made this for my birthday cake, and it was very very moist.Wonderful cake will make again:) Like mentioned from another review, she used 2 cups of milk instead of water, and 2 tbsp of Instant Coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The cake itself was very good, very moist. Easy to make. I still need to find a good chocolate frosting recipe since the one I made was too sugary with not much chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this recipe based on the reviews and this is my new chocolate cake recipe!!! Everyone LOVED IT!!! I frosted it with the ghirardelli frosting recipe that is on the can...also used that cocoa for the recipe...This is a KEEPER recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Mendoza-Iacovino

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I turned to this recipe when my usual go-to recipe was giving me grief. I was not disappointed. It was moist, rich, and chocolaty. I got a lot of compliments on the cake. I'm thinking this will probably replace my usual recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I have a very similar recipe that uses buttermilk that I prefer over this. This wasn't bad, just didn't get eaten like my other one does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayflower19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I've been searching for a home made chocolate cake recipe to use for my B&B and this will be it! I add 2 heaping tablespoons of instant espresso to the boiling water - this is a fabulous cake! It does tend to stick to pans; I generously greased and floured my pans and then put wax paper in the bottom of the 9" round pans and sprayed the wax paper with Pam then poured in the batter, and they came out just fine. This amount of batter made three 9" cake layers that were a reasonable thickness for a 3 layer cake (not so tall that it was difficult to transport). I used the coconut cream cheese frosting recipe from this website and did not frost the sides of the cake, only between the layers and on top. Then I patted toasted coconut on to the exposed frosting between the layers and on the top - the cake was beautiful, magazine quality to look at, and tasted unbelievably good. I have also added mini-chips to the cake batter and that's a nice addition, but makes it tough to get the layers out of the pans. In the future, if I add mini-chocolate chips, I will bake the layers for 5-10 mins and then sprinkle the chips on top of the layers of batter and return them to the oven. That should help prevent the chips from immediately sinking down to the bottom of the cake layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This cake was so disappointing! :( I made it EXACTLY as described, with the only (minor) change being that I used hot brewed coffee in place of the boiling water. Others had suggested that this would help bring out the chocolate flavor, but not only didn't this cake taste very chocolate-y, it also didn't taste very SWEET--a big surprise given the amount of sugar! Finally, the cake stuck to the pan, and it didn't hold together very well. Overall, the taste was just okay and definitely not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by btobey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I wasn't too fond of this recipe, although my husband loved it. I made it this weekend for Valentine's Day. It was too heavy for my liking. The consistency was more like brownies than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States