Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
The best from scratch chocolate recipe I've found! I loved that it was dark and it was kinda fudgey. I used milk instead of water, didn't have shortening so used oil (just a little less), and added about 1/3 cup of melted semisweet chocolate chips just to make it a little more chocolatey. My in-laws, husband, and I loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this cake to accomodate a friend who is lactose intolerant. I followed the recipe as stated and thought the cake was pretty moist. I made it into a bundt cake and frosted it with a chocolate glaze. Not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I chose this cake recipe to make for my husband's birthday... his favorite chocolate! I used half cup of coconut flour, and the rest organic white flour. For the shortening, I used coconut oil instead. The flour has a lot of fiber in it, and the oil keeps the fat from storing in the cells. This recipe came out perfect.. very moist! For the frosting, I used the fluffy peanut butter recipe, and the chocolate ganache glaze on this site. To die for! Will definitely make this for future chocolate cake lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was a pretty good chocolate cake. After baking, the top looked so glossy and shiney and beautiful that I almost didn't want to frost it. It was a moist cake but had a texture that was not quite what I was used to... I think because of all the shortening in the recipe. It grew on me and was especially yummy with the Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Very chocolate-y and not too sweet. Adults enjoyed more than kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My spouse made this for my birthday cake, and it was very very moist.Wonderful cake will make again:) Like mentioned from another review, she used 2 cups of milk instead of water, and 2 tbsp of Instant Coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The cake itself was very good, very moist. Easy to make. I still need to find a good chocolate frosting recipe since the one I made was too sugary with not much chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this recipe based on the reviews and this is my new chocolate cake recipe!!! Everyone LOVED IT!!! I frosted it with the ghirardelli frosting recipe that is on the can...also used that cocoa for the recipe...This is a KEEPER recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I turned to this recipe when my usual go-to recipe was giving me grief. I was not disappointed. It was moist, rich, and chocolaty. I got a lot of compliments on the cake. I'm thinking this will probably replace my usual recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I have a very similar recipe that uses buttermilk that I prefer over this. This wasn't bad, just didn't get eaten like my other one does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States