Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Off. The. Charts. Insane. No, really. This totally reminds me of Dad's Chocolate Death Cake with all the chocolate-y goodness. I followed this recipe exactly, frosting it with my own Chocolate Buttermilk Frosting and whoa, dude. I have to watch how much I have with my weight loss journey but my husband has had two pieces already and looks to be in a chocolate coma. This is awesome--nevermind simple as heckfire to assemble. New favorite chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Loved this recipe, the only thing I changed was replace one of the cups of boiling water with milk. Excellent! Frosted with Ermin Icing. Will make again and again. I had no problem with cake sticking to pan as others have had, but I was especially generous with greasing and flouring pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is chocolate cake recipe should be in everyone's recipe box! It was as moist as any boxed cake mix I've ever made but I had the satisfaction of telling my family that I made it from scratch. As some reviewers said, it wasn't as sweet as some other cakes I've made but that was perfect since the butter cream icing I used was very sweet. Nice contrast. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This cake is fantastic and perfect for any day! I am allergic to dairy and i thought it was heaven! Instead of plain shortening, I used canola oil butter. When you are mixing the flour mixture with the hot water, "stab" the mixture with a fork so you will break any powder balls, or else small bubbles will appear in the cake. The cake had an amazing appearance as i took it out of the oven! If you are not a fan of icing or frosting, you should put powdered sugar on top of the cake. I will use this recipe of cake for every birthday I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
MMMMMMM! This was so delicious and so moist! I made this with the Banana Nut Frosting (also from allrecipes). I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made cream filled cupcakes using this recipe for the cake and the Satiny Chocolate Glaze on this site for the tops (canned white frosting for the squiggles). The cake is SPOT on for these cupcakes. At first I thought they were a bit dry as I'm used to the cake mix chocolate cakes, but when you hit the cream filling it's a PERFECT combo! The color is also a deep dark chocolate. THANKS for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
made this for my dad and loved it with chocolate cream cheese frosting.. going to make a boat birthday cake for my sons 3rd bday with this but have yet to decide on what flavour to put in the middle of the layers... suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dinah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Visually, the end product looks delicious, but I found that it lacks flavor and isn't sweet enough. I may tweek it a bit and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I make this cake all the time. I even use it to make cupcakes for my kids parties at school. I make no modifications. This cake is very moist and I cannot put into words how good this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States