Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Awesome!!! Made this for a friend's birthday as a surprise-first time I tried it and it is soooo good. Very moist, dark chocolate, easy to prepare and tastes wonderful. We highly recommend this to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
First off, this cake tastes wonderful. If I was just eating the cake and not have to MAKE it, it would easily be 5 stars. With that being said, it was almost impossible to frost, because it crumbled and fell apart. I actually made it twice, because I thought that I did something wrong the first time. It was a hit with my family and easy to whip up, but the fun stopped there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this for my son's 23rd birthday and he LOVED it. The other 3 kids loved it too. I used the 1 cup water with 1 cup of milk together. I made it in a Bundt pan for 50 minutes and when cooled I frosted it with a buttercream frosting. I mentioned it to someone at work and they said their grandmother made a similar cake using 2 cups of coffee so I may try this next. I think this will be my new chocolate cake recipe from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I will never make another chocolate cake after making this! I needed cupcakes for a baby shower and I wanted the cake to look very dark so it would look awesome with the baby blue icing. It was black, and delicious. They were the hit of the shower. I did substitute 1 stick of butter in place of the shortening. I have never used shortening. Otherwise, I did the ingredients as listed. The cupcakes were done in 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Hello from Spain, this recipe is spectacular, cooking time up to 8 people is 45 minutes at 175 ° C I've made ??some changes I changed 1 cup water with 1 cup of milk I added 2 tablespoons of powdered milk and I added 1 teaspoon of instant coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Totally loved this recipe-the best, most tasty and moist chocolate cake ever. Used the coffee and butter, no shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I gave this cake one star because it came out looking like a cake. It was easy to prepare and assemble. There are a few problems though. Shortening starts exploding when bringing to a boil. Grease fire hazard: use caution. In addition; the cake comes out very dry and crumbly. Don't let the batter fool you into thinking the cake will be fudgey and gooey. I followed the recipe to the exact measurements and it turned out an extremely dry cake. Either is only meant for low altitude or is a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This cake is just wonderful!! Made for a co-workers Birthday, and everyone raved about it. Frosted with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting from this site also. Will make again, thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Moist and delicious. Very easy to make with ingredients that are readily available in most kitchens. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1.5 cups and I can still taste the sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I've finally found the recipe with the perfect moist texture to make cupcakes for my son's bday. I have done many other chocolate cake recipe and have come out dry. This recipe was so easy and came out nice and bouncy.****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States