Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this cake for a graduation and it was a hit! I did follow the sugestion of using milk instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Delicious! Much better than chocolate cake out of the box. And the batter is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This cake is delicious! I don't even like chocolate cake, and I had to have three pieces of this. I put on some Pillsbury Chocolate Fudge frosting, which topped it off great. Definitely a great cake to relax with, along with a tall glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris & Pat
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I just made this and it's fabulous. It's dense and moist. I added 2 packages of Swiss Mix to the boiling water before I poured it over the shortening. Not sure if it made a difference or not, but it was great. I am adding this to my "favorites". It's restaurant worthy and everyone thought I bought the cake from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Wonderful cake. u wont regret this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Perfect... Rich... Moist... The best chocolate cake I have ever eaten or made. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was a wonderful cake. Rich, very dark but not heavy on the cocao flavor as some can be. Was relatively easy to make and was a hit plain. I think this would be wonderful with a Ganosh style topping or a nice whipped cream style frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I made this last night and it was very good. I did have a little trouble with it sticking to the pan but it still came out ok. It was also a little too moist so I will try with a little less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Good flavor but not as moist as I would have hoped...and I didn't overcook. I took a reviewer's advice and used coffee instead of water. That bumped the chocolate flavor tremendously. I think I may do that from now on when making chocolate cake. I will keep searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was alright. Not bad, but it was not nearly as chocolate-y as I had hoped for. Really, it tasted remarkably like a boxed mix... not what I hope for when baking from scratch. I used "Mom's Buttercream Frosting" and THAT was fantastic! I doubt I will make this again... a mix is much easier and tastes the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States