Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was a wonderful cake. Rich, very dark but not heavy on the cocao flavor as some can be. Was relatively easy to make and was a hit plain. I think this would be wonderful with a Ganosh style topping or a nice whipped cream style frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I made this last night and it was very good. I did have a little trouble with it sticking to the pan but it still came out ok. It was also a little too moist so I will try with a little less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Good flavor but not as moist as I would have hoped...and I didn't overcook. I took a reviewer's advice and used coffee instead of water. That bumped the chocolate flavor tremendously. I think I may do that from now on when making chocolate cake. I will keep searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was alright. Not bad, but it was not nearly as chocolate-y as I had hoped for. Really, it tasted remarkably like a boxed mix... not what I hope for when baking from scratch. I used "Mom's Buttercream Frosting" and THAT was fantastic! I doubt I will make this again... a mix is much easier and tastes the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Great cake, and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
good basic chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These were soooo yummy, one of the best chocolate cakes I've made yet, and the deep dark color was really nice. I glazed it with the satiny glaze from this site, and cut down a bit the amount of sugar.I used butter instead of shortening. Oh and I also halved the recipe and baked it in a 8x8 in. square pyrex pan. Came out moist and delicious, very similar to the Betty Crocker cake that you make from a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Wow! This cake was delectable. I took a bite after I had frosted it with chocolate frosting, and practically melted into a puddle on the floor. It completely satisfied my insane chocolate craving. I added some toasted coconut to the frosting, that's yummy. ALso, this cake tastes better warm than cold, in my opinion. So, I pop a slice in the microwave for around 10 or 15 seconds. Warning: An ice-cold glass of milk is required for the eating of this cake. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luthiena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
OMGOSH!!! the best!! I made it for my husbands B-day, the day before I gave birth to our son. It was awsome because we had birthday cake 2 days in a row!! My hubby, who is a hard core chocolate feind says its the bests he's ever had. Coming from him thats a HUGE compliment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
giving this 4 stars for ease of preparation. Used butter flavor crisco, had 1 cup of leftover coffee so used that for part of the water, and added some espresso powder to boil with the water. I didn't even use my beaters, just a wire wisk. I think the espresso powder added to the flavor of the chocolate and although I just used Hershey's powder, it tasted like it was a more expensive chocolate. Made this into a bundt cake and baked @55 minutes in my oven. Made a small review 'muffin' and although it did not puff up on top, this would be a good cake to make into a layer because it does bake even. Not over the top sweet and drizzled the bundt cake with some leftover cream cheese frosting when it was slightly warm. Used butter cooking spray for the pan and had no trouble with it sticking. It was gone in 8 hours but I found it did crumble a bit although it was moist. I would maybe throw in a tablespoon or two of applesauce. Maybe using oil instead of shortening would help the crumble problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States