Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made this cake with ease, and its texture was perfect. It baked beautifully. It wasn't as chocalety as I had hoped, but that was easy to fix with a sweet icening or adding additional chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NickiB
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this cake for my mother's Birthday. This was a very rich, very chocolately, slightly heavy cake. I used milk instead of water and heated it to almost boiling and mixed in a heaping teaspoon of instant coffee and 2 ounces of semisweet chocolate. I made two 9 inch round cakes and I filled and frosted the cake with a chocolate raspberry fudge frosting, covered the whole thing in chocolate ganache, and then made another batch of ganache that I chilled, whipped, and used to pipe decorations around and on top of the cake. I decorated the cake with sliced, toasted almonds and edible flowers. It was sooooo good. Never before had I completely understood the meaning of 'Death by Chocolate'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This cake exceeded my expectations. It's one of those recipes you only dream you could put your hands on. I also used milk and instant coffee granules in place of boiling water. The result is unbelievably moist cake with satisfying chocolate flavour. It is a very versatile recipe and rises very well. I filled my pans 3/4 full and they almost overflowed, so be careful with that. Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this cake for a graduation and it was a hit! I did follow the sugestion of using milk instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Delicious! Much better than chocolate cake out of the box. And the batter is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This cake is delicious! I don't even like chocolate cake, and I had to have three pieces of this. I put on some Pillsbury Chocolate Fudge frosting, which topped it off great. Definitely a great cake to relax with, along with a tall glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris & Pat
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I just made this and it's fabulous. It's dense and moist. I added 2 packages of Swiss Mix to the boiling water before I poured it over the shortening. Not sure if it made a difference or not, but it was great. I am adding this to my "favorites". It's restaurant worthy and everyone thought I bought the cake from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Wonderful cake. u wont regret this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Perfect... Rich... Moist... The best chocolate cake I have ever eaten or made. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was a wonderful cake. Rich, very dark but not heavy on the cocao flavor as some can be. Was relatively easy to make and was a hit plain. I think this would be wonderful with a Ganosh style topping or a nice whipped cream style frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States