Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The only substitution I made was I used applesauce instead of the shortening. The cake has a good consistency, but got very sticky and gummy on the bottom, even though it was baked. I think there's too much baking soda and baking powder in it, because there's a strange extra flavor and I think that's what it is. The texture and consistency are much more moist and dense than a cake mix, which is good in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNKENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Was OK but not the best I've had. I did what other people suggested and put milk instead of water. The cake had a good overall flavor but just wasnt moist enough. I liked that the cake was a little dense which I can use in the future for tiered cakes. Im going to try some different adjustments to see if I can still get a dense but moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Very rich, and hit that chocolate craving perfectly! Oh, and my husband loved it too! (Much like a lot of other reviewers, I used milk in place of water for a bit of balance to the amount of cocoa, and added 2 tbsp of instant coffee) All in all though, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Perfect! Used this cake to make Ice Cream Cake and it turned out great. Used 2/3 c. Smart Balance Buttery Spread in place of the shortening and followed reviewers advice and added 2 t. of instant coffee to the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Great Texture Moist,Rich and Flavorful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigjim50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
FABULOUS!!!!! I frosted one of these cakes with a peanut butter frosting and the other with chocolate ganache (did I spell that right?) They were to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by einygav15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made this cake with ease, and its texture was perfect. It baked beautifully. It wasn't as chocalety as I had hoped, but that was easy to fix with a sweet icening or adding additional chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NickiB
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this cake for my mother's Birthday. This was a very rich, very chocolately, slightly heavy cake. I used milk instead of water and heated it to almost boiling and mixed in a heaping teaspoon of instant coffee and 2 ounces of semisweet chocolate. I made two 9 inch round cakes and I filled and frosted the cake with a chocolate raspberry fudge frosting, covered the whole thing in chocolate ganache, and then made another batch of ganache that I chilled, whipped, and used to pipe decorations around and on top of the cake. I decorated the cake with sliced, toasted almonds and edible flowers. It was sooooo good. Never before had I completely understood the meaning of 'Death by Chocolate'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This cake exceeded my expectations. It's one of those recipes you only dream you could put your hands on. I also used milk and instant coffee granules in place of boiling water. The result is unbelievably moist cake with satisfying chocolate flavour. It is a very versatile recipe and rises very well. I filled my pans 3/4 full and they almost overflowed, so be careful with that. Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this cake for a graduation and it was a hit! I did follow the sugestion of using milk instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States