Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Just whipped this into some delicious cupcakes. I love the dark color and luscious texture. I followed some of the suggestions and substituted milk for the water and butter for the shortening and a few dashes of instant coffee. Devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Sharon Mays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I was looking for something special for my son's first birthday, and this was it! I followed the recipe exactly except used butter instead of shortening. I used 2 9-inch pans and made a layer cake with Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting from this site. Someone noted a problem with the cakes sticking, so I buttered parchment paper and lined the bottom of the pans- they came out perfectly, with no problem. I will make this cake again for birthdays,with the icing it is a standout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I needed a recipe to replace a favorite I could not find. Wow, this was the one. I love dense, moist, rich chocolate cakes and this was all that. It did not need milk or coffee that others recommended. I did replace the shortening with butter because I prefer the flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This cake is FANTASTIC!! It turned out great each time I made it. I've turned it into a sheet cake for birthday cakes, and everyone always comments on the great flavor and how moist it is. Follow the directions EXACTLY and you won't have any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFSHELL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
this cake is really good!! like chocolate heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The only substitution I made was I used applesauce instead of the shortening. The cake has a good consistency, but got very sticky and gummy on the bottom, even though it was baked. I think there's too much baking soda and baking powder in it, because there's a strange extra flavor and I think that's what it is. The texture and consistency are much more moist and dense than a cake mix, which is good in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNKENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Was OK but not the best I've had. I did what other people suggested and put milk instead of water. The cake had a good overall flavor but just wasnt moist enough. I liked that the cake was a little dense which I can use in the future for tiered cakes. Im going to try some different adjustments to see if I can still get a dense but moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Very rich, and hit that chocolate craving perfectly! Oh, and my husband loved it too! (Much like a lot of other reviewers, I used milk in place of water for a bit of balance to the amount of cocoa, and added 2 tbsp of instant coffee) All in all though, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Perfect! Used this cake to make Ice Cream Cake and it turned out great. Used 2/3 c. Smart Balance Buttery Spread in place of the shortening and followed reviewers advice and added 2 t. of instant coffee to the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Great Texture Moist,Rich and Flavorful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigjim50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States