Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Isn't it interesting how so many people can make the same recipe with such different results? Also curious is how a submitted recipe is altered by some cooks and then given a bad review. Having said that, I made this just as written (half recipe) in a mini egg shape pan from Williams Sonoma (eight to the pan). SO good! Fragrant, dark, moist, luscious little dark chocolate cakes. I used "Hard Chocolate Glaze" (also fabulous) to dip them in, then made a bakery style creamy white frosting to decorate them. These were to die for! Tasted like an infinitely better version of Hostess cupcakes! In fact, I could easily see this made in a cupcake tin to duplicate them near exactly. I know I will definitely use this recipe (with the glaze) again--and again--and again. All around, an easy to mix cake that yields perfect results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
The batter is AMAZING!!!! I haven't even tasted this cake yet (it's still in the oven) but using the batter as an indicator i think it's going to be great. I used milk as other reviewers have suggested and added two heaping teaspoons of instant coffee. THanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Awesome cake! Used applesauce in place of the shortening and the cake came out deliciously moist still. The boyfriend says, "Feel free to make this cake whenever you want."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this did not come out. I sifted together the dry ingredients and boiled 2 cups of milk. I melted the shortening in the milk, added it to the dry ingredients, beat in the eggs and added vanilla. The result resembled cookie dough more than cake batter. I wonder if I should have cooled the milk/shortening mixture before adding it. I baked my mess like a cake and the result was lumpy and fell apart. It did taste good though. I decided to try again and mixed the dry ingredients (I used Splenda instead of sugar this time) and then treated it like a boxed mix. I added 1 1/3c water and 1/3c oil. Then I beat in 3 eggs and some vanilla. It baked beautifully in about 30 minutes and was delicious. Tasted very similar to a boxed mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Really moist. Easy to make. It would be perfect for a black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is absolutely the best cake I've ever had. Dense and delicious! I made it exactly as directed and made my own vanilla buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem12881

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
After years (I added it to my box in 2003), this is still my favorite cake ever. It comes out perfect everytime and is almost too rich even for frosting. I often just put some powedered sugar on it or ice it with raspberry preserves instead of frosting. I usually make it as is unless I am out of cocoa powder... it comes out great with four squares of melted unsweetened baking chocolate. I always use shortening -- made it with butter before but it isnt the same melt-in-your-mouth texture -- try butter flavor shortening if that is your thing. Everyone I make it for is in love with it. Some hints... make sure you acutally boil the shortening in the water and add it to the dry mix -- no cheating! And use a spoon, not a mixer. I also sometimes add cinnamon to it for a spicier taste. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYS627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
It didn't come out as I expected. It tasted cheap and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leo
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Excellent!! Made it for my boyfriend birthday....big hit! Iced it with my mom's whipped cream frosting.......1 pkg nutriwhip, add pudding of choice while whipping, and voila....I used 2 pkgs chocolate pudding..turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a very good chocolate cake recipe for a 2 and 3 layer German chocolate cake. It is also delicious with vanilla butter-cream frosting... but then again, what isn't? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States