Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this last weekend for my husband's birthday. I followed the recipe pretty closely--I did add the heaping teaspoon of instant coffee and dissolved the cocoa powder in the water as well because I read somewhere it helps bring out the chocolatey taste. My family enjoyed the cake. However, I have to agree with the reviewer who said it had a box-mix taste. I think it is better than a box-mix cake, but it does have that same sort of spongy texture. If you are looking for a denser cakey cake with a finer crumb, then you should find a recipe that calls for creaming the sugar and fat and then adding the dry ingredients. I just didn't have the energy, which is why I chose this simple recipe. It is pretty easy to prepare and there isn't a lot of cleanup afterwards. The batter was very thin and I was worried too, but it baked up just fine. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
VERY good! I made this cake for my dad's birthday and it was amasing! I made a square cake of it, smothered it in cherry pie filling and served it with whipped cream. He ADORED it. I will make one technical comment on it, and that is do not try to make this in a 2-piece bundt pan...mine started in one but because of all the water it leaked out! So I scraped it into a square pan and it was brilliant. I was shy on cocoa so 2 tbsp of the cocoa was replaced with hot chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Great recipe. I didn't follow the Recipe mixing Instructions as I decided to use it in my Bread Machine. Substituted Canola Oil for Shortening and threw all the ingredients into the pan just like I would for Bread(liquids first). The Cake setting mixed everything together, then I set it on Bake. After 1.5 hours it was done. I'm going to try to make a Black Forest Cake with this Recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
i dont know what i did wrong.i was so dissapointed with this cake.it tasted like rubber and i ended throwing the whole cake.maybe because of the shortening i used.maybe if i ever decided to give this recipe another chance i'll use butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Very good. Didn't need to bake the full 30 minutes. Gave a 4 because it needed a little extra something. Perhaps next time I'll put some chocolate chips in it or poke holes and add some caramel or fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This cake was awesome!!... and extremely easy to make. The only change I made was I used butter instead of shortening as I hate the stuff. The cake was so moist and chocolatey that my kids ate it warm with no frosting. I wanted to make a treat and only had basic ingreients on hand. I'm so glad I found this recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glorious
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I am just making this cake for my daughters wedding. It is sooooooooooo gorgeous and moist and scummy I have to keep making another one as it keeps getting eaten ( by me). I am actually doing one inch layers which I will sandwich together before icing. I am doing twelve layers to make a four tier cake. i will let you know how it turns out but up to now it is the best and easiest chocolate cake I have ever made. I am so glad I found this site. Thank Glo The wedding was on Sat 4th Oct and as well as looking gorgeous it tasted fantastic, very very moist. I filled it with chocolate fudge icing between each layer and coated it with belgium chocolate roll out icing. Every one loved it and wanted the recipe. I had adapted it slightly by adding a 100gm block of chocolate to the hot water and butter and I did cook the large cakes in 1" thin layers as this made it easier to cook and fill with the fudge icing. I will certainly be making this cake in future. Mine took longer to cook than said but it was so easy to make and I did not have any failures in all the twelve layers. Thank you for a superb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The ingredients for this cake are assembled in a rather untraditional fashion. As I was putting the everything together, I was thinking "I'll see how it turns out, this is wierd!" I didn't need to worry, it was perfect. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9x9 square. It rose to a nice height, is very moist and I think it tastes nice and chocolaty. I did not use coffee instead of the water, but I'm sure it would intensify the flavor. I used Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting and it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very reminscent of a box cake mix, but much more dense. It was missing that big 'chocolate wow' that I was expecting. If I make it again, next time I will follow others suggestions of replacing the water with coffee and upping the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
very good tastes a lot like a boxed cake but with the texture of home made. i used milk in place of water cut the sugar down to 3 cups and added about 1/4 cup more cocoa powder. it was GREAT. will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmm

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States