Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Great recipe. I didn't follow the Recipe mixing Instructions as I decided to use it in my Bread Machine. Substituted Canola Oil for Shortening and threw all the ingredients into the pan just like I would for Bread(liquids first). The Cake setting mixed everything together, then I set it on Bake. After 1.5 hours it was done. I'm going to try to make a Black Forest Cake with this Recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
i dont know what i did wrong.i was so dissapointed with this cake.it tasted like rubber and i ended throwing the whole cake.maybe because of the shortening i used.maybe if i ever decided to give this recipe another chance i'll use butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Very good. Didn't need to bake the full 30 minutes. Gave a 4 because it needed a little extra something. Perhaps next time I'll put some chocolate chips in it or poke holes and add some caramel or fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This cake was awesome!!... and extremely easy to make. The only change I made was I used butter instead of shortening as I hate the stuff. The cake was so moist and chocolatey that my kids ate it warm with no frosting. I wanted to make a treat and only had basic ingreients on hand. I'm so glad I found this recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glorious
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I am just making this cake for my daughters wedding. It is sooooooooooo gorgeous and moist and scummy I have to keep making another one as it keeps getting eaten ( by me). I am actually doing one inch layers which I will sandwich together before icing. I am doing twelve layers to make a four tier cake. i will let you know how it turns out but up to now it is the best and easiest chocolate cake I have ever made. I am so glad I found this site. Thank Glo The wedding was on Sat 4th Oct and as well as looking gorgeous it tasted fantastic, very very moist. I filled it with chocolate fudge icing between each layer and coated it with belgium chocolate roll out icing. Every one loved it and wanted the recipe. I had adapted it slightly by adding a 100gm block of chocolate to the hot water and butter and I did cook the large cakes in 1" thin layers as this made it easier to cook and fill with the fudge icing. I will certainly be making this cake in future. Mine took longer to cook than said but it was so easy to make and I did not have any failures in all the twelve layers. Thank you for a superb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The ingredients for this cake are assembled in a rather untraditional fashion. As I was putting the everything together, I was thinking "I'll see how it turns out, this is wierd!" I didn't need to worry, it was perfect. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9x9 square. It rose to a nice height, is very moist and I think it tastes nice and chocolaty. I did not use coffee instead of the water, but I'm sure it would intensify the flavor. I used Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting and it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very reminscent of a box cake mix, but much more dense. It was missing that big 'chocolate wow' that I was expecting. If I make it again, next time I will follow others suggestions of replacing the water with coffee and upping the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
very good tastes a lot like a boxed cake but with the texture of home made. i used milk in place of water cut the sugar down to 3 cups and added about 1/4 cup more cocoa powder. it was GREAT. will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmm

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made this cake for my son's birthday. He wanted chocolate cake with vanilla icing. I followed the cake recipe exactly. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was a little too long. The cake wasn't burned, but the edges were overcooked. The cake itself was too dense for my taste and not very cakey. It had a spongey texture. The flavor was, well "thin" is the best way I can describe it. It wasn't very sweet and it wasn't very chocolatey. I used the vanilla buttercream recipe from Culinary Institute of America, but it couldn't save the cake. I definitely would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This cake is absolutely wonderful. I did take a few other's suggestions on using coffee instead of plain water though. I have never received more compliments on a cake before. I'm making two this week alone for two celebrations. I don't think it will be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States