Black Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I'm sorry to say this didn't turn out well. I didn't taste the chocolate very much. No one wanted to eat it. I didn't make any modifications. One thing it did well is getting out of the pan pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Best chocolate cake we have tasted so far. I didn't have shortening so I used oil. Really moist and comes out of pan easily. I used cool whip on top instead of frosting because it is sweet enough. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I tried this recipe for a birthday cake substituting the 3/4 cup shortening for 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup of applesauce. The batter was very thin and watery but got thicker once I added the flour. I used 2 9 inch rounds instead of a 9 x 13. The cake was very moist and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
My husband is a chocoholic and was I looking for a birthday cake that he would rave about. Found this and baked it, was a big hit. The cake is moist and delicious. I used sugar free chocolate icing to minimize the caloric impact but will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is the recipe that my mom used to make and long ago lost to me! Followed directions exactly except substituted butter for shortening. Excellent excellent! Thank you for returning a wonderful childhood memory to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
So moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I don't know what we did wrong when following this recipe, but it was so bad that it was inedible. Followed the directions exactly...definitely will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow Bondietti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was a cinch to throw together, and was moist & tasty. Thanks...this is my new go to chocolate cake. My favorite thing about this cake is it is not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeCooksNomNoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA
Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Wow!!! The best choclate cake I have ever had. No need to change a thing. I made cupcakes with this recipe and they were so delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Super delicious cake. In place of 2 C boiling water, I did 1C water, 1C milk, really hot in the microwave, so the shortening didn't melt completely, but I mixed it in. Anyway, the cake is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States