Black Bottom Cupcakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. The cupcakes came out fine, but there seemed to be something missing in the flavor of the chocolate cake. The texture did improve slightly after leaving the cupcakes overnight, but perhaps there needs to be more cocoa (or chocolate) in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
My favorite cupcake recipe EVER! They are so easy and quick to make...and always turn out PERFECT! I recently made a batch for a friend's school fundraiser for her son; they were a HUGE HIT at the dessert auction. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
If you are a chocolate lover this is for you. These cup cakes are definitely better the next day, the flavor, texture and moistness are enhanced over night. I made them exactly as directed and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mountain Top, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These were amazing! I am afraid to make them again because I just couldn't stop eating them. Even better with a cold glass of milk. I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars because it definately deserves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I did not have enough creamcheese and added almond butter to get enough volume, cameout suerb!!!! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These are delicious. I made only a couple of modifications: (1) instead of using one cup water, I used one cup of strong coffee (adds a nice mocha flavor to the cupcake); (2) I used half brown sugar and half white sugar; and (3) I added maybe an extra tablespoon of flour and teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa. I only baked them for twenty minutes to prevent burning. I agree with other reviewers that they don't look "pretty" but they sure taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
the vinegar idea was not right it had this strong flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I added extra cocoa to the cake batter, and i thought the flavor of these cupcakes was really good. However, I baked these the night before and took them to work, and they were all dried out by the end of the day. I substituted apple sauce for the veggie oil, but I've done that on other recipes that were very moist. All in all, this was an ok recipe, but next time I may try using a combination of olive oil and apple sauce to get them to stay moist. I also had leftover cheesecake mix, and I baked it as cupcakes. Those were a big hit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
5 STARS!! I absolutely loved this recipe. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie
Living In: Hohenfels, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Just made these. They are so good. I made them exactly the way the recipe said and they turned out great. They did not spill over either. You have to make sure NOT to over fill or it will spill over. Will definately make these again, Family Favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States