Black Bottom Cupcakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
LOVE THESE CUPCAKES SAME RECIPIE AS MY G-MOMS!!!!!!! I OPTED TO SUB WATER FOR COFFEE AND USED DARK COCOA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I really like the brown part of the cupcake. There is not enough of cheesecake. I had only 20 (not 24) cupcakes of this original recipe and the cheesecake part was just lightly covering top... not even noticeable when eating. so maybe next time I will double the cheese mixture. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Other than calling for miniature rather than regular-sized chocolate chips, this recipe is identical to "Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes," which is also from this site. Because I've made "Grandma's" before, I knew I'd love these too. They're easy to make, pretty, and the taste can't be beat, particularly if you like dark chocolate cake and cheesecake. And you don't even miss the egg! I have to say, miniature chocolate chips, regular-sized, I don't see one as better than the other. Making these again, I'm reminded of why I liked them so much the first time. Just as I did with "Grandma's" recipe, I found these baked up just right ast 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I love these cupcakes! Here's a tip: These taste the best when they are left to be refrigerated overnight. The cream cheese is so delicious and cold and it makes it so moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
UPDATE: MY HUBS' CO-WORKERS LOVED THESE. I'VE ALREADY BEEN ASKED FOR THE RECIPE TWICE! OMG! It's SUPER rare that I award a perfect rating, but I just couldn't resist.... These are da BOMB!!! While I enjoy cheesecake, it's not my dessert of choice (and I don't like darkk chocolate ANYTHING!!!). Knowing this, I set out to make these to share with my neighbors and husband's co-workers and not to eat myself. These looked SOOO yummy, I couldn't resist the urge to sneak a bite. :) Not only was I pleasantly surprised, even my cream cheese-hating hubs liked these! Although delicious, there is one minor downside. These are U-G-L-Y lol! Since I was going to share these, I topped each cupcake with a mildly sweet white chocolate cream cheese frosting (BAKERAMA's carrot cupcake recipe, also on this site). The frosting was perfect! When I make these for myself (there WILL be a repeat!), I will not add any frosting tho.... While I was able to add some visual appeal, these are best eaten as is. NOTES: 1) I was concerned that my chocloate and cream cheese batters were too thin and actually thought I did something wrong. :( Turns out, both slightly thicken as they sit and they bake up BEAUTIFULLY, 2) ONLY FILL YOUR MUFFIN CUPS 1/3 FULL AS DIRECTED (these rise quite a bit!) and 3) Refrigeration definitely helps although I'm not sure it's necessary to refrigerate overnight (a couple hours will do and is a MUST). Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, SHERIMA! These were simply fantastic! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
yummy! following the other reviews, i halved the recipe and it made exactly 12 cupcakes using my silicone cases. These were awesome! So gooey and yum. Update - I made these a second time, this time using paper cup cake cases. I Kept everything exactly the same as the original recipe and expected 24 cupcakes. It made 48! I also had to reduce the cooking time to 15 minutes. Both times i made these, i used "Buttercream Icing Recipe" also from this site. They are awesome and i don't think i'll ever use a different recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made this recipe for a halloween party 2 years ago and it gets requested by different people throughout the year. delicious! I use a whipped cream, cream cheese frosting and it goes great! But you really can just enjoy them without any frosting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackieG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I hadn't made this recipe for years, but wanted something quick and easy and delicious to serve my book club. I followed the instructions exactly (using egg and cream cheese at room temperature). Perfect. I ended up with 20 standard-size cupcakes, not 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is the same recipe I have been using for a long time. I love these! They freeze really well and defrost rather quickly so that I can have them on hand and ready to serve any impromptu guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Followed this recipe to the T and it was excellent.I wanted to use coffee instead of water like the others but couldn't since I don't drink it and don't have any laying around. It is even better 2-3 days after. The cupcakes stay moist and the cheesecake topping eliminates the need for frosting. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States