Black Bottom Cupcakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Yum! I was only able to get 18 cupcakes, but the filling did sink to the center of almost all of them. They are a delicious indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I love these!!! And yes, I add the vinegar. I have no idea what it's purpose is or what it's for (maybe ask Alton Brown haha) but these are just fabulous. I wouldn't change a thing. These are the best of the black bottom cupcake recipes on this site!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Center Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CALIPOUTINE
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I sub coffee for the water which deepens the choc. flavor. Its an excellent cupcake. Taste of home has an easy frosting that I make with it. It includes cocoa, melted butter, milk and 10x sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALIPOUTINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sza Sza
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is the first cupcake recipe I have ever tried in my entire life, and I am quite impressed with it! It`s so simple to make! However, like other reviewers, I found the cream cheese mix to be a bit runny, so next time, I am going to even put less egg in the mix. But the recipe is absolutely delicious and it looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
My daughter and I made these last night for her 5th birthday. After tasting them, she said the were the perfect thing to have for her birthday. We did use black cocoa instead of regular cocoa, so ours were probably a little darker and more Oreo-tasting than most, but they were great. She had one while it was still warm last night and loved the "fudgy middle" (the melted chocolate chips) and she had a cold one today and still thinks they are fabulous. We made 24 cupcakes as stated with no problems at all. I did notice that there is a discrepancy in the baking times listed- at the very top of the recipe, it states that the bake time is 25 minutes, and in the directions, the time is listed as 35 minutes. 35 minutes is about 10-12 minutes too long, or at least it would have been in our oven. I pulled them out after about 24 minutes and they probably would have been even better around 23 minutes. Even so, the recipe is a keeper for DD's future birthday treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made these for work on a Friday. OMG they were OH so good. For time reason I used a chocolate cake mix instead of a homemade one. I made a hand full of cupcakes and with the rest of the batter I made a bundt cake with it. They were both so good. I did also use a whole pack of Chips (you can never have to many)Yummy and will make again and will put in my cookbook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FemmeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very easy to make. I cut the recipe in half with no problem. Definitely taste better after a day in the fridge. My boyfriend thought they were a bit wet, but I like a moister cake and thought they were good. We both liked the flavor and ate 2-3 each. Used 1/2 low fat cream cheese and 1/2 fat free, still tasted great. Enjoyed with vanilla soy milk. The filling mostly got covered when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemmeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
These were yummy! I had no idea it was so easy to make cupcakes without using a mix. I'll never go back! Some observations: (1) The cake part is a little bland - not sure what to do, maybe add more cocoa powder? I would like them to have been more chocolaty so as to contrast with the cream cheese part. (2) Not very pretty... maybe next time I'd try piping the cream cheese mixture in? I thought the black and white parts would magically melt into something beautiful, but they looked like the same messy blobs of white they were when I spooned them in! (3) This recipe does in fact yield 24 cupcakes if you follow the recipe as it's written. I filled the cups up 1/3 of the way with the cake mix and then added a heaping spoonful of the cream cheese mixture and came out with exactly 24 cupcakes, none of which flowed over as others experienced. The cake with rise a good amount and 1/3 full is just right. With some tweaks I will certainly make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Heavens - these are out of this WORLD! You MUST leave them to get cool to fully understand the deliciousness and mouthfeel of these - full fat, ice cold milk is a definate as well! SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe, turned out perfect with absolutely no changes to the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States