Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Having literally made over 10,000 of these over the last 25 years, here's the real deal on these: forget the salt, it adds nothing and nobody can tast the difference. Don't substitue Devils cake fot this, it's not the same. Use Special Dark cocoa if you like dark chocolate. A little extra vanilla never hurts anything. The filling is the most crucial part of this and can be very tricky to master. You need to soften the cream cheese prior to mixing, set on the counter for an hour or two, DO NOT MICROWAVE. Mix the cream cheese, sugar and egg just until there are no more lumps, then add 1/2 bag of chocolate chip. Here's where most mess this up; DO NOT OVER MIX. If filling gets runny then it carmalizes on top and never "sinks" into cake. If under mixed then filling only tastes like cream cheese and cake batter taste is off. Within the first hour after cooking, batter is gooey but delicious. Following day filling firms up for a different texture(still good), but microwave for 10-15 seconds can re-gooey it for you if you like that better. Also I make 18 not 24 with exact same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1604 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Yum! Here is my $.02 about the recipe...some observations: 1) The cream cheese mixture is very runny, some previous reviews expressed concern about that, but it sets while cooking. 2) The cream cheese mixture is about twice what you need. Double the cake portion. 3) I only needed to cook them 20 minutes. 4) I got 1 dozen regular sized muffins out of the recipe (w/o doubling the cake portion). Changes: 1) I used a heaping 1/3 cup of cocoa. 2) Milk instead of water. 3) Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
These were great, I used boxed devil's food cake mix instead of the batter for less prep time. I filled the cups half-full and then put in a mound of the cream cheese mix and then topped them off with more batter to make them like true cream-filled cupcakes. They still made 24 and took around 20 min. to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I acquired this reciped in 1966 - it's a family classic but I add a 1/2 tsp. of salt to the dry mix, use white vinegar and use chopped walnuts on top. I use mini cupcake pans & two liners - 1 tbsp dark batter 1 tsp light batter 350 15 mins. Seeing that these are so rich, I just pretty them up with a dusting of powdered sugar-- no icing is necessary. They store well in the fridge and get perked up with a fresh coat of powdered sugar when holday guests pop in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Like many other reviewers, I substituted coffee for water (and added a spoonful of dry milk powder to the flour mixture). What really made them good, though, was the spoonful of strawberry jam I dropped on the top of each before baking. Strawberry was what I had; using blackberry or plum jam could give these a sophisticated, Black Forest-type taste, and I'll try that next time--or perhaps swirling berry puree throughout the cream cheese mixture, or just dropping a frozen raspberry into the centre of each cupcake. The berry touch really 'lifts' the cupcake; I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Very good. I substituted coffee for the water and it was excellent. I also added a little vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. I was taking them to a party so I drizzled them with a chocolate glaze just to dress them up. They looked great and tasted great too. It does make a lot of filling but I wouldn't cut that in half; I filled each half full with the chocolate mixture and used a heaping tablespoon of filling for each cupcake. I ended up with 19. The baking soda reacts to the vinegar so you really wouldn't want to omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
These are the BEST!! ;d I used a devils food cake mix to make it even quicker and I had regular size choc. chips instead of mini ones, but it turned out so delicious anyway. I had to be careful about how I lifted the cupcakes out of the tins - take a knife or spatula and try to pre-loosen the bottoms before taking them out. Next time I might try paper lining and see how that goes. Also, I only had one muffin tin, so I made 12 muffins and one 9" round cake. The cake also turned out excellent. Again, pre-loosen the bottoms before removing the slices. Also, though the cake tastes great, it's not very 'pretty.' That's my food for thought.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These were so good! I might add orange or raspberry flavoring to the batter next time to add a hint of another flavor. Definitely use mini chocolate chips because the big ones sink to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I did cheat by using a boxed Devils Food cake mix. The cupcakes were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States