Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by CKG
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Yummy cupcakes! Recipe made about 14 large cupcakes. Baked for 25 min, but could have taken them out at 23 min- they cooked a lil hard on the top, but nothing major. The center was soft and moist and the cream cheese filling came out perfect! The only changes I made were to sub coffee for water and omit the 1/8 tsp of salt from the cream cheese filling. One warning: These little numbers are addictive- you can't eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by thaichica
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My mom used to make these for us when we were kids. I am happy to carry on this tradition now that I've found the recipe online. I made these this evening and they turned out just like they did when I was a kid. LOVE these. They also freeze really well. We always made these around Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thaichica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I omitted the salt and used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. These were good, but the batter was not as rich, fudgy and chocolatey as I was expecting. Next time I think I'll actually melt some chocolate into the cupcake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Loved the chocolate cake but the gooey center tasted a little like uncooked dough. Probably wont make these again. The taste is really good though, we didn't throw them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bridger, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These cupcakes were phenomenal! The rich chocolate paired perfectly with the sweet cream cheese filling. If you're like me, and can't resist the urge to make a few teeny weeny changes, here's what I'd suggest: Use coffee instead of water. It really brings out the chocolate flavor. Unless you are all about the cake, make the full amount of cream cheese filling! (I halved the cream cheese mixture because I only had 4 ounces of cream cheese left and wished I hadn't.) It will look like you don't need the full amount when you are filling the liners but once the cake bakes and expands it should create the perfect ratio. If you prefer rich chocolate flavor, use a chopped up dark chocolate bar in place of the semisweet chocolate chips in the filling. I used a 70% cacao bar. For the cake, use half dark chocolate cocoa powder and half unsweetened. Last, as another reviewer suggested, add a dollop of jam to the middle of the filling. I used a four berry blend. This really took the cupcake to a different level! After the cupcakes have cooked, top these bad boys off with fresh or candied raspberries to impress your family and friends! Doctored up or as is, these cupcakes are my new go-to recipe when I want something sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good rich chocolate cupcakes!!! Totally fulfilled my craving. I went by the recipe exactly except for one adjustment and that was using coffee instead of water which I recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sindarella32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Easy, pretty and delicious! Definitely no frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
So moist and good, will definitly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMaster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Summit
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These were good. I tried to save time & used a box mix. My mix was a little dry. The cream cheese mixture was excellent. Contrary to what others said, you can soften your cream cheese in the microwave & it'll be fine. Put in microwave for 30 seconds at 40% power. It's perfect! When mixed with egg & sugar, it wasn't runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Summit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Good, but too fluffly. I have tried other versions and prefer a more dense brownie like consistency. Also, they weren't chocolatey enough... they need more flavor. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States