Black Bottom Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is the best cream cheese cupcake recipe I have found. Everyone who has tried them has fallen in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shinjiangnicole
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These are delicious (and I mean delicious), but there were a few problems for me: 1. I ended up with more chocolate batter than the cream cheese mixture. I ended up swirling whatever remains of the cream cheese I could scrape from the bowl into the chocolate mixture and baking it. The small cake tasted awesome dusted with powdered sugar. 2. I used silicone cupcake cups, which might have caused the problem, because my cake batter ended up cooking very slowly, so the cream cheese was turning golden brown when the cake finally turned into a brownie-like texture. 3. I used 3 tablespoons of batter and 2 tablespoons of the cream cheese. 4. I used regular chocolate chips. They tasted awesome after refrigerating, there were chunks of chocolate in them (yum!). 5. Use light cream cheese. Each cupcake is a whopping 171 calories. There's no taste difference. Everyone loved these cupcakes. I couldn't stop eating them either. Time to hit the gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These cupcakes are great. I've made them five different time and they are always a hit. This recipe barely has enough for 24 cupcakes but it works. I've also made just 12 using the same amount. The cupcakes turn out giant but the cake engulfs the cream center and it's delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelz35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKG
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Yummy cupcakes! Recipe made about 14 large cupcakes. Baked for 25 min, but could have taken them out at 23 min- they cooked a lil hard on the top, but nothing major. The center was soft and moist and the cream cheese filling came out perfect! The only changes I made were to sub coffee for water and omit the 1/8 tsp of salt from the cream cheese filling. One warning: These little numbers are addictive- you can't eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by thaichica
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My mom used to make these for us when we were kids. I am happy to carry on this tradition now that I've found the recipe online. I made these this evening and they turned out just like they did when I was a kid. LOVE these. They also freeze really well. We always made these around Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thaichica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I omitted the salt and used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. These were good, but the batter was not as rich, fudgy and chocolatey as I was expecting. Next time I think I'll actually melt some chocolate into the cupcake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Loved the chocolate cake but the gooey center tasted a little like uncooked dough. Probably wont make these again. The taste is really good though, we didn't throw them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bridger, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These cupcakes were phenomenal! The rich chocolate paired perfectly with the sweet cream cheese filling. If you're like me, and can't resist the urge to make a few teeny weeny changes, here's what I'd suggest: Use coffee instead of water. It really brings out the chocolate flavor. Unless you are all about the cake, make the full amount of cream cheese filling! (I halved the cream cheese mixture because I only had 4 ounces of cream cheese left and wished I hadn't.) It will look like you don't need the full amount when you are filling the liners but once the cake bakes and expands it should create the perfect ratio. If you prefer rich chocolate flavor, use a chopped up dark chocolate bar in place of the semisweet chocolate chips in the filling. I used a 70% cacao bar. For the cake, use half dark chocolate cocoa powder and half unsweetened. Last, as another reviewer suggested, add a dollop of jam to the middle of the filling. I used a four berry blend. This really took the cupcake to a different level! After the cupcakes have cooked, top these bad boys off with fresh or candied raspberries to impress your family and friends! Doctored up or as is, these cupcakes are my new go-to recipe when I want something sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good rich chocolate cupcakes!!! Totally fulfilled my craving. I went by the recipe exactly except for one adjustment and that was using coffee instead of water which I recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sindarella32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States